Review: Beard in Mind by Penny Reid

Posted on Updated on


Beard in Mind by Penny Reid
My rating: 5+++ of 5 stars

Looking for a fresh and original, sexy, sweet and incredibly touching and heartwarming story? Anything written by the very talented, quirky and ingenious Penny Reid it is practically guaranteed to be that and more because she brings so many elements together that make me want to both devour the story whole and savor it bit by bit.

I smiled, snorted, swooned, was touched, and that’s just by going over my highlights while trying to decide which to share. There’s just so much to talk about this book but let’s see if I can try to do just ten reasons why you should read Beard in Mind.

1. An enemies-to-lovers romance fan? Beard in Mind is a beautiful love story between two people who can barely stand each other but once they get to know one another they’ll discover just how wonderful being imperfect together is.

“This woman was going to be the death of me. How was it possible to both dislike and admire a person this much? To want—no, crave—so badly to be in her company and be rid of her at the same time?”

2. Shelly might seem like a porcupine but she’s an absolutely fascinating and adorable heroine. I loved the patience with which Penny unravels her complexity. You don’t just understand her, Reid makes you want to carve a special place in your heart for her.

“Yeah, she was beautiful, She was also smart, clever, a brilliant mechanic. And… complicated. And mean. I shouldn’t forget mean. Super, super mean.”

3. Beau isn’t perfect either, but he wears his flaws well. He’s looking for someone and isn’t completely sure what he wants, but he’s the sweetest, nicest, most charming and gorgeous man ever. And the way he sees Shelly’s inner beauty, supports and loves her is flat out swoony.

“It would be easy to look at her and only ever see the shell, be blinded by her form. But her flaws, her resilience in the face of her struggles, her strength of character and honor, that’s what made her who she was. She was exquisite to me and I loved her because I knew her.”

4. In true Penny fashion we get a levity that’s guaranteed to make you smile and balances the seriousness that accompanies the issues presented.

“I’m here to listen and hold your tools.”
I hoped that last bit was an innuendo.
“Not that tool.”
Damn. “What do you mean then? Hold my tools?”
“Bounce ideas off me, go through scenarios….”

5. Oh my goodness those Winston brothers are absolutely fascinating, I love getting to catch up with them and can’t wait to read about every single one and their best friends too! Since I know 10 won’t be enough, I’ll take advantage of mentioning that Cletus story overlaps with Beau’s and we get some fun scenes from Beau’s perspective.

“Cletus had instructed Duane to put his concerns in the suggestion box. Of note, Cletus had labelled the shredder in the upstairs office suggestion box.”

6. I just love it when authors put in “extras” in their books. In Penny’s case, I love reading the epigraphs at the beginning of each chapter. Sometimes their informative, sometimes they’re inspiring or funny and sometimes they just are.

“Educating the mind without educating the heart is no education at all.” ~ Aristotle
“I shall take the heart. For brains do not make one happy, and happiness is the best thing in the world.” ~ L. Frank Baum, The Wonderful Wizard of Oz

7. And speaking of lists, Shelly’s lists of things she’s thankful for are awesome.

October 29
1. Beau
2. Long walks
3. Autum

8. When the hero wants to write poetry to the heroine… you can bet you’ll be getting a romance with all the feels!

“I was also tempted to write poetry. To Shelly. From me. I was going to tell her all the ways she was amazing, epic, and extraordinary.”

9. Love banter and chemistry? You’ll certainly be getting sass and humorous wit along with the delicious chemistry between Shelly and Beau.

“You’re a good kisser.”
“I practice.”
“Oh?”
“Yes. With my pillow. And a watermelon that one time.”

9 ¾. I knew ten wouldn’t be enough! I haven’t told you about Shelly’s foul mouth parrot, or how much I like Beau’s best friend Hank and I hope he gets his own book, and that this book is about fixing refrigerators… errr… seriously, it’s about overcoming fears, about accepting ourselves and being perfectly imperfect, and… ok, I’ll wrap it up.

10. Mostly Penny Reid wrote it, so you should read it because you know you’ll be getting a unique and awesome story.

Beard in Mind is book #4 in the Winston Brothers series by Penny Reid. It is a standalone full length contemporary romance. A wonderful story in an already great series. Told from both points of view and has a happy ending.

* I was given an ARC of this book courtesy of the author via Social Butterfly PR. The excerpts taken are from that copy. *

4 thoughts on “Review: Beard in Mind by Penny Reid

    Book Twins Reviews said:
    July 30, 2017 at 4:08 pm

    Wow, fabulous review!!! I loved seeing CLETUS in this book ❤️❤️ and Shelly was such an unique character!!

    Liked by 1 person

      dalitzamorales responded:
      July 30, 2017 at 4:53 pm

      I may have developed a woman crush on Penny Reid. I really love her books, but I think this one is her best yet! I loved seeing all the Winstons in the book including Shelly’s brother… OMG another item on the list!

      Liked by 1 person

        Book Twins Reviews said:
        July 30, 2017 at 5:27 pm

        She is definitely a very unique author with a very distinctive voice. Love discovering more authors like her.

        Like

    dalitzamorales responded:
    July 30, 2017 at 5:30 pm

    When you do, let me know? 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

