Review: I Knew You Were Trouble

Posted on

I Knew You Were Trouble
I Knew You Were Trouble by Lauren Layne
My rating: 4 of 5 stars


A delightful romantic escape. Lauren Layne writes up a fun, flirty and highly enjoyable story about a woman who doesn’t believe in love thinks the predictable good guy is the way to go, but actually wants the roguish bad boy with the scruff and sexy smile.

Taylor Carr and Nick Ballantine’s relationship can be described as complex mix of “bad timing and worse decisions.” But when Taylor gets dumped the same day her ex was supposed to move in with her, her no-nonsense and very pragmatic character resolves to accept Nick Ballantine, the sexy freelance writer/bartender who knows how to infuriate her in less than five seconds flat, as her roommate. How will she ever survive his infuriating attractiveness?

Ever since he first met Tayler, Nick liked her. She was a what-you-see-is-what-you-get kind of girl. He saw past her icy exterior and saw the lonely, competitive, sarcastic and gorgeous woman. So when he saw the opportunity to create mischief, he happily volunteered to move in with her because deep down he knows there’s an attraction neither are acknowledging. Can he convince Taylor to blur the enemy lines and take a chance at love with him?

“He wanted Taylor Carr—but when he finally put his hands on her, he didn’t want it to be about Bradley. He wanted it to be about them.”

This book was fun! It was so much fun I read it in a single sitting grabbing me with the amusing tension and quick wit banter between the protagonists. I was snickering, laughing and fanning myself while swiping left as fast as possible.

I was sad for Taylor as she felt herself unlovable but absolutely admired her backbone. She’s one tough chick and deserved a man who not only understood her but made her complete happy. And who better to do that than funny and sweet man who had no qualms in calling her BS. I absolutely adored Nick! He’s such a great guy.

“How can you be a bartender, a journalist, and a n author, and still find all that time to drive me crazy>” ~ Taylor to Nick

Besides being carefree, smart and attractive, he’s caring and understanding, especially when Taylor’s jabs strike hard and deep. I liked that he could read woman because he had two sisters he loves. I liked that he indulged his mom, and I think my ovaries exploded along with Taylor’s in a scene where he’s carrying a baby. I’m almost sure I smiled every time I read from his perspective or he was in a scene.

Even though there are some touching and sad moments, the overall feeling while reading this story is a feel-good, light-heartedness that comes from the quick banter, fiery chemistry and slow build up between Taylor and Nick. I only wish there had been more of their story to read as I felt the ending was on the rushed side.

Lauren Layne has great skill at creating relateable characters you want to get to know and hang out with. The Stiletto and Oxford series are proof positive of that. I’ve loved getting to know every one of the characters in the series and enjoy every time they get together, gossip and conspire to get another couple into the HEA club or just pop up whenever.

“You forget that I have to share and office space with you two and your pheromones. The sexual tension’s excruciating.” ~ Brit to Taylor

I Knew You Were Trouble is book #4 in the Oxford series by Lauren Layne. It is a standalone romantic comedy. Told from both points of view with a happy ending.
4.5 stars

Amazon -> http://amzn.to/2sQaHrV

* I was given an ARC of this book courtesy of the author via NetGalley and Tasty Book Tours. The excerpts taken are from that copy. *

More reviews * Stalk us on FaceBook * As well as Twitter * Pinterest Board for Book Teasers

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

