Review: The Foxe & the Hound

Posted on

The Foxe & the Hound
The Foxe & the Hound by R.S. Grey
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


An appealing enemies-to-lovers romantic comedy that is sure to make you smile. I hadn’t laughed that hard in a while! Absolutely fun, sexy and adorable. R. S. Grey’s buoyancy shines through!

Madeline Thatcher didn’t mean to reach twenty seven and still have her life in disarray. But she has her priorities straight. 1. Sell at least one house in the near future in order to pay the months overdue rent. 2. Train her ginormous puppy to heel and not maul well-dressed, good looking men, especially if said man is the new veterinarian in town. 3. Falling in love with Dr. Adam Foxe is forbidden even if he is the most attractive man she’s ever laid eyes on and he’s offering to hire her as his real estate agent if she pretends to be his girlfriend for a day. Can Madeline succeed at any of these or will her life go from shambles to absolute dishevelment?

“I hardly recognized you without Mouse,” he quips.
I smile and it’s fake and he knows it. “And I hardly recognized you without that scowl on your face.”

I don’t even bother with the blurb any more. Every time I open up an R.S. Grey rom-com I know I’ll be addicted with her ability to combine the right amount of yummy sexual tension, fun banter and delightful romance. I was hooked with the book’s flow and mirth. It made me laugh out loud and before I knew it I had read the entire story in a single sitting while enjoying the couple’s sweet story.

“I’m going to kiss you,” he announces.
“Don’t!” I snap. “Adam Foxe, do NOT under any circumstance—” He kills the rest of my sentence with his lips.

Both Adam and Madeline are endearing characters, alone as well as a couple. Madeline is funny and sympathetic, she’s so down to earth and relateable she made me want to be her friend. Adam moved to the small town of Hamilton after a heartbreaking experience which left him bitter, wary and needing to figure out his life. He was cold at first, but mostly because he felt vulnerable and wanted to protect his puppy loving heart.

“I can almost pretend he’s a living, breathing human and not a robot cyborg programmed to rescue puppies and make woman swoon.”

When their lives literally collide, they’re not exactly happy about it. But as they keep bumping into each other in the small town and with the attraction they can’t deny, what started off as pretend soon morphs into more.

A couple of last comments. Mouse the dogs is incredibly cute. The scenes with him are awesome. And I LOVED Adam’s mom. She’s hilarious!

The Foxe and the Hound is standalone contemporary romance by R.S. Grey. It is cheerfully frothy and fresh. A fantastic rom-com with charm and heart you won’t want to miss. Told mostly from both points of view.

Amazon -> http://amzn.to/2qQmEMC

* I was given an ARC of this book courtesy of the author via InkSlinger. The excerpts taken are from that copy. *

More reviews * Stalk us on FaceBook * As well as Twitter * Pinterest Board for Book Teasers

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

