Review: Feel Me

Posted on

Feel Me
Feel Me by Cecy Robson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars


An emotional story that hooked me from the start and I couldn’t put it down until the very sweet end.

As one of the oldest of seven siblings, Declan always saw himself as one of his family’s providers and protectors, driven to succeed in public office first as District Attorney and perhaps mayor to obtain the power to safeguard his family and the people of his city. He’s worked hard to get his A.D.A. tittle and is less than happy when his boss moves him to lead the unit no one wants, especially knowing he’ll have to interact on a daily basis with the boss’s daughter. The only woman who hates his guts and who he can’t stop fantasizing about.

“This isn’t lust. Lust is too damn easy. This is different. Who am I kidding? Everything I feel for Melissa is different, including the way I want to kiss her… and do a hell of a lot more.”

Born with severe hearing loss and to a careless mother, Melissa Fenske’s early childhood seemed more than bleak, but turned completely around when she was rescued and adopted by the current D.A. whose health issues have forced him to place Declan in the same unit with his daughter. Melissa isn’t blind and can clearly see how much the gorgeous attorney affects the female population including herself, Good thing she can’t stand his arrogance and selfishness. Can she keep a safe distance from the smart, resource and kind man she’s getting to know?

“It’s a good heart, strong and honest, but tender when it need to be just like its owner.”
“You’re giving me too much credit,”
I tell her.

It was so fun to see how the sexy, self-assured Declan kept putting his foot in his mouth whenever he was around Melissa until he didn’t and then flat out started pursuing her despite his abhorrence to relationships lasting longer than a night, a shortcoming that will eventually cost him. Melissa is an easy character to like and respect. She’s driven, sweet, nurturing, she wholeheartedly cares about the people she helps, she’s confident, yet imperfect because of reasonable insecurities. Oh and did I mention she loves to read smutty historical novels? And Declan indulges her!! Absolutely delicious and fun!

I was all for Declan’s charm and alpha sexiness, as a whole tough, he’s not easy to like. But I found myself cheering for them along with the loud, unfiltered and rowdy O’Brien family who I loved to catch up with, as Declan and Melissa’s relationship grew and they began to fill each other’s lives sweetly, sexily and completely. They balanced each other perfectly.

“All this darkness I deal with every time I sit at my desk would be impossible to push through without Mel. In the few weeks we’ve worked together, she’s become my salvation.”
_____________________________________
“This is my favorite side of him, the one who teases and plays, and proves there’s more to this man than ambition.”

Except for the ending which felt a bit rushed but I attribute this to me wanting more, the story flowed effortlessly, the characters were well developed and the plot, which dealt with sad and dreadful matters such as abuse, was well executed and handled with respect.

Feel Me is book #4 in the O’Brien Family series by Cecy Robson. It is a standalone contemporary romance. Told from both points of view with a happy ending.

Amazon -> http://amzn.to/2qP0v58
Video -> https://www.facebook.com/Cecy.Robson….

4.5 stars

* I was given an ARC of this book courtesy of the author via NetGalley. The excerpts taken are from that copy. *

More reviews * Stalk us on FaceBook * As well as Twitter * Pinterest Board for Book Teasers

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Review: Feel Me

    kimbacaffeinate said:
    May 24, 2017 at 6:13 am

    Wonderful review. I loved that Melissa read those HF novels 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      dalitzamorales responded:
      May 24, 2017 at 8:41 am

      Thank you so much Kim 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

