Review: Confessions of a Former Puck Bunny

Posted on Updated on

Confessions of a Former Puck Bunny
Confessions of a Former Puck Bunny by Cindi Madsen

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


Fun, flirty, sexy… a sweet hockey college romance!

“Just slip.” I reached up and ran my thumb across her bottom lip, my blood pumping hotter at her sharp exhale. “I’ll catch you.”

After wasting too much time pursuing hockey players and one in particular who broke her heart, Lindsay Rivera decided to forsake all things hockey and put school first and now all she has to do is pass her Math class to finish college and move to New York to start her dream internship. Easy peasy, right? There’s only one catch, she’s not good at Math and the only available tutor is a sexy as sin hockey player.

Ryder “Ox” Maddox’s plan A is to go to NHL and break more records than his famous NHL father did, his plan B is to become a math teacher, his plan for now is to give his team and teammates his all to help them win the championship tournament and to use his Math knowledge to get the lovely newspaper’s editor to give him a chance. She’s about to graduate, he’s still got two years to before he finishes college, can they find a way to make it work?

“She was one complicated girl, and I liked solving equations that seemed impossible.”

This is my first Cindi Madsen book and hopefully it won’t be the last. I’m going to make a confession of my own, I added this book to my reading list because of its title and the fact that it was set in a college background. I’ve read my fair share of professional hockey romances and enjoyed them very much, but I hadn’t read one where the hero hasn’t reached that level of achievement and I was curious.

I’m happy to say that my curiosity was rewarded with this very cute, fun and flirty new adult read. I loved getting to know both Lindsay and Ryder as individuals and as a couple who had great chemistry and banter.

“Don’t girls love it when the guy picks up the heroine in those novels you read, too?” I scooped her up and tossed her over my shoulder. “Me man, you woman. We go make paintball now.”

Ryder is a big cuddly teddy bear wrapped up in a magnetically charming and sexy package that also includes a smart, hardworking, determined and chivalrous man. Even though she knew mother loved her, Lindsay grew up with some abandonment and self-esteem issued. During her puck bunny phase she sould self-esteem from other people, but after having her heart broken she picked herself up and took on life by the horns. It was fun to read her confessions and perspective in general.

As Lindsay and Ryder decide to take a chance on each other even when their worlds and goals don’t align, their relationship builds in a very enjoyable way. That’s not to say they have smooth sailing along the way.

The writing was solid, the pace flowed nicely and the main characters where fleshed out nicely. I liked having the characters from previous books as an added layer.

Confessions of a Former Puck Bunny is book #4 in the Taking Shots series by Cindi Madsen. It is a standalone sports romance. Told in first person from both points of view and has a happy ending.

Amazon -> http://amzn.to/2p5Oow1

* I was given an ARC of this book courtesy of the author via NetGalley. The excerpts are from that copy. *

More reviews * Stalk us on FaceBook * As well as Twitter * Pinterest Board for Book Teasers

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

