Review: Kiss Marry Kill

Posted on Updated on

Kiss Marry Kill
Kiss Marry Kill by Sidney Halston
My rating: 4 of 5 stars


A suspenseful, sweet and sexy, second chance romance.

After their too short-lived but thrilling weekend together they fell in love but were supposed to have a clean break, they didn’t exchange numbers because he’d leave for another tour with the marines and she’d go off to start her law degree. They’d have the fond memory of that perfect bubble in time. Five years later Jax Irons is the proud owner of Iron-Clad Security Firm and while he frequently thought of Megan, he pictured her as a happily married lawyer with 2.5 kids not the super star musician who’s in a danger and needs his help. Can he find a way to save and keep her?

“Promise me, you’ll be happy”

When Mega Cruz thought of him, she remembered the drop dead gorgeous stranger who kissed her at a baseball game because the kiss-cam had focused on her and her detestable boyfriend couldn’t be bothered. She remembered the carefree man who showed her how to live, enjoy life and gave her the nudge she needed to take a risk and live her dreams which turned into Grammy winning fame. But now she’s being stalked by a deranged fan and the only man she trusts to keep her safe is not the relaxed, happy-go-lucky guy she so often thought of. Can she help him remember the man he used to be while playing a deadly game of cat and mouse?

I need to make a confession. I did not look at the title, cover or blurb of this book. I just added it to my to-read list and hopped I could read it soon because it was by Sidney Halston, an author I discovered by chance a couple of years ago and who has unfailingly provided me with great reads ever since. She has now become an automatic one click author for me and I’m so glad I added Kiss Marry Kill to my list and just dove right in.

Halston captured my attention right from the start, setting a suspenseful mood to backdrop the sweet and sexy romance between Jax and Megan. Not only did they have to solve the mystery behind Megan’s stalker, they also have a deep connection and unresolved past, and an incredible amount of chemistry.

Through flashbacks, we get to know their past personas which are very different from their current personalities, their baseball kiss-cam meet-cute, and how those four incredible days together changed their lives. Even though the circumstances of their reunion aren’t great, I really enjoyed their sizzling hot chemistry, the way they got to rediscover each other with a back and forth made me laugh and smile, and how they learned to balance each other.

Although I first wanted to slap her silly for not making sure her house alarm was activated, Megan was a very likeable character as was Jax even though he had big emotional conflicts between wanting Megan and needing to protect her. I also liked getting to know Megan’s two band mates and Jax’ business partners. I can’t wait to read more about them.

“I don’t remember you being so caveman-ish.”
“You have a terrible memory then.”


Kiss Marry Kill is the kickoff book #1 and a great start to the Iron Clad Security series by Sidney Halston. It is a standalone suspenseful contemporary romance. Told from both points of view and has a happy ending.

* I was given an ARC of this book courtesy of the author via NetGalley. The excerpts are from that copy. I am voluntarily reviewing this title. *

Amazon -> http://amzn.to/2mP6x38

More reviews * Stalk us on FaceBook * As well as Twitter * Pinterest Board for Book Teasers

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

