Review: Losing Kyler

Posted on

Losing Kyler
Losing Kyler by Siobhan Davis
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


Losing Kyler packs everything from suspense, drama and angst to friendship, family and love. It fed my addiction and left me wanting more.

Just when Faye Donovan thought her life could go back on track, her uncle reveals shocking news that will have her question everything and the one person she wants by her side can’t be there because her relationship with Kyler Kennedy is prohibited. Star-crossed lover status is a walk in the park compared with the obstacles they face.

And it’s not just their lives that seem to be crumbling apart, the hits keep coming towards the Kennedy’s in general and everyone is suffering.

It is devastating for Kyler to keep away from Faye, but he’d do anything to maintain her and his family safe no matter the cost until disaster finds her and he’s not there to save her. Can they get past the hurt and heartbreak caused by omissions in the face of yet another upsetting family revelation?

I don’t think I have the right words to convey the emotional roller coaster this story took me on. Siobhan Davis continues crafting an intricate story full of shocking twists and surprising turns that kept me flipping pages like crazy.

Losing Kyler starts where Finding Kyler left off and I had to mentally restrain myself from searching for at least one of the answers I was hoping to get. But Siobhan takes her time and leads us through the aftershocks of the revelations made at the end of book one. While reading about the aftereffects we learn so much more about all the supporting characters. Although keeping track of the cousins with K names was a great memory exercise.

While Kyler and Faye are at the center of this plot driven story –will they be able to have a happy future together?– Siobhan skillfully entwines several other side stories with their own curveballs that affect the main couple and kept me fully engaged. From James and Alex situation, to the very sweet Brad who gets a lot more page time in this book with his growing friendship with Faye but whose family situation is almost as distressing, to the rest of the Kennedy brothers who are dealing with their own worries and drama.

I know I’m being deliberately vague, but I promise it’s for the best. You just have to jump right in and enjoy all the drama! I will say that I loved, LOVED the character development, every single one was layered and complex. I wanted to throttled some and hug others. The pace was perfect, moving the plot forward answering some questions while setting the stage for others. I can’t wait for the next instalment in the series and every single one that is to come.

Losing Kyler is book #2 in young adult The Kennedy Boys Series by Siobhan Davis. It’s written from the heroine’s points of view with a cliffhanger. I recommend it for readers that like teen drama and angst revolving around family secrets and taboo relationships, all wrapped up in a sexy, swoony romance.

* I was given an ARC of this book courtesy of the author. The excerpts are from that copy. My review is voluntary. *

Pre-order for #99cents -> http://amzn.to/2nUobjK

More reviews * Stalk us on FaceBook * As well as Twitter * Pinterest Board for Book Teasers

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Review: Losing Kyler

    SiobhanDavisAuthor said:
    March 21, 2017 at 10:04 am

    Thanks for the fab review, Dali 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      dalitzamorales responded:
      March 21, 2017 at 10:35 am

      It’s all you! A fab read 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

