Review: Wait For It

Posted on

Wait For It
Wait For It by Molly O’Keefe
My rating: 4 of 5 stars


A raw, edgy and gritty contemporary romance with all the feels

“A tormented woman teaches an alpha male that money can’t fix everything . . . but love can.”

A year ago, Tiffany accepted her coldhearted brother-in-law’s money to get away from her husband and find her three kids’ a decent apartment. She’d rather eat nails than ask him for help again, but metaphorical nails won’t fill her kids’ bellies. Putting her pride aside, she reluctantly consents to Blake’s assistance even when it puts her in constant contact with him. Can she trust him? Can she ignore the attraction that’s developing between them?

When Blake Edwards first met his brother’s estranged wife in her trailer park home, he thought she was a liar only after money, but he sees her clearly now. He knows his brother abused her and he now perceives her strength and survivor’s heart. Having the opportunity to get to know her better now, he not only admires her, he wants her. Can he convince her he’s not the cruel and ruthless man she once met?

“I wanted her. Every bit of her. And every thorn between us. I wanted the sharp corners and the deep shadows.”

This is my first Molly O’Keefe story but it certainly won’t be the last. The writing is good, she writes characters that feel real and relateable because of their flaws and she gives the story a gritty texture that is addicting.

Wait For It has an acutely raw feel to it with Tiffany’s anguished life that has very little chance of having a happy ending. But she’s tough and pragmatic and her strength will not only help her, it’ll also touch Blake’s life with a light that will melt the cold layers he hides behind.

“Rock bottom may come in different forms, but here’s the trick—it always smells the same. Like panic and tears. Like regret and vomit. Fear and blood.”

Although Tiffany broke through his walls and brought him to his knees, I felt there was much more to Blake’s emotional impediment I didn’t fully understand which kept me from completely falling for him. I did like that once he realized Tiffany filled his colorless life a rich vibrancy he was willing to give her time, space and just about anything in order to have a chance to be with her in any capacity.

“I kissed her like she was the solution. My solution. Like she was everything I needed. And right now that was the truth. And I longed with my naked soul to be her solution.”

Their relationship was certainly not an easy one, but as with the rest of this story the attraction between Blake and Tiffany was blistering hot and intense, and at times even sweet. I have so many highlights with Blake’s thoughts about her.

“You have constellations on your thigh, Tiffany,” he said with perhaps the sexiest smile I’d ever seen in real life. “I’m just studying them in case I get lost.”

Knowing now that this book is part of a series I wish I would have started at the beginning as I sensed I would have savored this couple’s difficult journey to happiness much more even though I never felt lost in their story but I did feel the ending was a bit rushed, or perhaps it was just me wanting more.

Wait For It is book #4 in the Everything I left Unsaid series by Molly O’Keefe. It is an emotional standalone contemporary romance that had me flipping pages until the very end. Told from both points of view with a happy ending.

* I was given an ARC of this book via NetGalley. The excerpts taken from that copy. Images are from pinterest. *

More reviews * Stalk us on FaceBook * As well as Twitter * Pinterest Board for Book Teasers

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

