For Finlay by J. Nathan Release Blitz

Posted on Updated on

 

 

Title: For Finlay
Author: J. Nathan
Genre: New Adult Sports Romance
Release Date: January 30, 2017
Blurb

Finlay Thatcher is a lost soul, guilt-ridden after the death of her twin brother. When Alabama’s football coach gives her the opportunity to work for him, she knows it’s her chance to move on, even if it means living her brother’s dream.Caden Brooks is Alabama’s star quarterback. He’s got it all. The attention of adoring fans. A girlfriend who’d do anything to hold on to him. And a future in the pros. He’s getting along just fine until Finlay steps into his life, despising him at first sight and pushing his buttons like no other.

Unfortunately for Finlay, and her attempt to keep Caden at arm’s length, there’s nothing Caden loves more than a challenge. The problem with this challenge is she comes with a secret that has the power to destroy everything.

Purchase Links
AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU
For Finlay
For Finlay by J. Nathan
My rating: 5 of 5 stars
Fierce, funny and gorgeously written, J. Nathan expertly balances this sweet and sexy story about loss, love and finding happiness with the perfect amount of touching and heartfelt emotion.

Two years ago, Finlay Thatcher lost her other half, her best friend, her twin brother. Having Cole die thinking she hated him when in reality she was so proud and loved him has left her absolutely sorrowful until Alabama’s football coach practically drags her to work for her brother’s team giving her the opportunity to forge ahead. Getting past the guilt should be Finlay’s biggest difficulty, but then she meets Bama’s star quarterback who took her brother’s position.

Caden Brooks’ is living the college dream. He has droves of fans, a devoted girlfriend and a starting position in the team’s football team, nothing could possible trouble him, except for the team’s spitfire water girl who inexplicably hated him on sight but who he can’t seem to stay away from. Especially since they see each other at practice, share a class and bus rides, and they keep bumping into each other in the middle of the night due to their insomnia. Loving a challenge Canden sets out to break down her walls, but will he like the secret she has hidden behind them?

I read this in one sitting, I couldn’t put it this book down! The pace and flow felt effortless. Caden and Finlay’s push/pull, love/hate relationship kept me hooked from start to finish. They had great banter and chemistry and a shared past that brought tears to my eyes.

I felt so much for Finlay. First living under her brother’s shadow and then living with so much guilt over her attitude towards him. Yet she’s also strong and determined to pick up the pieces of her life. I was so happy she had an awesome roommate who had her back and that Canden sparked her witty personality. I was also delighted with her atypical water girl job.

Initially Canden may seem like the epitome of the American college quarterback, hot, cocky, with pro-football prospects and a gorgeous girl hanging from his arm. Even without the heart-breaking filter Finlay saw him through I could probably hate him too. But once you take off the hate glasses and start to get to know the man, there’s so much more to him. He’s not just charming to a fault, he loves his mother, is loyal and thoughtful. And for those of you keeping track, he hates dishonesty so there’s no cheating.

Canden and Finlay get off to a rocky start but their relationship is hooking and develops in a sweet, sassy and heartfelt way that made me laugh, smile and wipe away tears.

For Finlay is a standalone, New Adult Romance. Told from both points of view with a happy ending.

Pinterest Board -> https://es.pinterest.com/Jnathanbooks…

Excerpt

“You’re awfully quiet this morning.”

My eyes cut to Brooks. His ear buds dangled over his shoulders. I tugged mine out. “Huh?”

“Just wondering what pearls of wisdom you’re gonna bestow upon me today.”

“You need to stop hesitating when you drop back,” I told him, much to his obvious surprise. “Either do it or don’t. Did you see how those guys pummeled you?”

“See it? I was under it.”

“Yeah, well, your offensive line sucks. But you can’t give the defense a chance to get to you. Know where you’re throwing and hit the mark. Your receivers are good. They’ll get there.”

He stared at me, his eyes narrowed slits.

I wiped my face with the small towel I’d draped over the treadmill screen. “Don’t worry, you’ve got potential.”

He laughed disbelievingly. “Potential? I’m the starting quarterback for Alabama.”

Those words—especially leaving his mouth—cut deep. The only reason he was playing was because Cole wasn’t.

“I’ve got more than potential,” he assured me.

“Yeah. You’ve got a massive ego ready to destroy small countries,” I said, my words clipped as I remembered why I despised him so much.

“All great athletes have egos. You’ve got to.”

Wow. My hatred toward him was growing by the second. “And you’re humble.”

He laughed. Didn’t he notice I wasn’t laughing? I hoped to God he didn’t think I was flirting. This was as far from flirting as one could get.

We ran in silence, the pounding of our sneakers on the treadmills mirroring the pounding in my head brought on by his arrogance.

“What’s your deal anyway?”
I glanced over at him. “What’s that supposed to mean?”

“Not many girls know so much about football and wake up at four in the morning to run.”

I scoffed. “Hope you’re not implying I thought you’d be here.”

“I didn’t say that.”

“But you were thinking it.”

He smirked. “You’d be amazed at the lengths girls go to get my attention.”

My eyes flared. “I suppose you think I took some crash course in football, too, just to impress you with all my knowledge.”

“Just saying.”

My face scrunched as I pressed the arrow on the screen to quicken my pace. “Keep dreaming, superstar.”

“Girls have done some whacked out shit.”

My eyes jumped between the wall in front of me and Brooks. “First of all, I’m not about to steal your towel because it has your sweat on it, nor will I be swiping your jockstrap to sell online. We, my friend, are victims of bad timing.”

“Bad timing?”“Yeah. Anytime you’re in my space, it’s bad,” I assured him.

 

 
Author Bio
J. Nathan is the author of the new adult novels For Finlay, Before Hadley, Until Alex, and Since Drew. When she’s not writing, she’s a total romance junkie! Add an alpha male who’s unlikable in the beginning…even better. Happy endings are a must. Love triangles and negative people are the bane of her existence. Her family, friends, guys in backwards hats, and watermelon margaritas are the light…
Author Links

Leave a Reply

