Review: Max

Posted on

Max
Max by Sawyer Bennett
My rating: 4 of 5 stars


Absolutely gooey and sweet!

“There’s something about you that makes me believe everything is possible.”

NHL star goalie and believer in love, Max Fourier isn’t interested in random hookups but he isn’t looking for a relationship either, he just wants to concentrate on hockey and winning the championship. However, when he comes across a damsel in distress who doesn’t even recognize him much less care about this fame and fortune he can’t help but want to help and get to know her. Can he convince her that regardless of their different backgrounds they’d be perfect for each other?

“I think you’re pretty much a one in a million type of woman, and babe… these are a rarity. It was imperative I snatch you up fast before someone else scooped me.”

Julianne Bradley is struggling to keep afloat, holding down two jobs while taking care of her late sister’s three kids. She doesn’t know about sports much less sport stars, she does recognize though the irresistible magnetic force that comes from the gorgeous customer that helped her out with a couple of bothersome shoppers and saw beyond her burdens into the heart and decided to pursue her. Can she let herself have the man and everything he’s offering?

“I have a feeling you have layers upon layers, Jules. I look forward to peeling them.”

Sawyer Bennett has been in my automatic read list for a while now. I know I can trust her to deliver a good story with endearing characters that will entertain and leave me smiling. Max is no exception, providing a sweep-you-of-your-feet sexy and sweet modern day Cinderella story. I didn’t expect to read such a syrupy sweet story from Bennett though, but it was a nice change of pace.

Max is absolutely perfect. Whenever he looks at Jules, he sees inner beauty and everything else he wants in woman, making his decision to go after her complications and all an easy one for him, not so much for her. He’s the kind of guy who loves deeply and comes armed with a panty dropping smile and patience, respect, support, romance and did I mention captivating sexiness? He’s actually a bit too perfect which makes Jules doubt herself into believing she’s not good enough for him.

“I can’t figure out for the life of me why this enigmatic man who is famour and rich and hot would be sitting here looking at me this way.”

Having the responsibility of raising kids makes Jules a bit reticent with regards to Max. She’s strong and independent and doesn’t want his money and is unwilling to deal with the complications that come with dating an NHL star. But Max is as determined and stubborn as she is to win her over.

Even though we read about Julianne’s insecurities in regards to her relationship with Max throughout the story, it’s never a huge issue and it is resolved simply without unnecessary or over the top drama which is something I very much appreciate.

With series like these, there are supporting characters from previous books that help move the story forward and give it an added layer. I loved catching up with Alex, Garrett, Zack and Hawke. I especially liked the fact that Max’s story was parallel in time with Hawke’s giving the Cold Fury followers an added perspective from the last book.

Max is book #6 in The Cold Fury Series by Sawyer Bennett. A standalone, sports contemporary romance written from both points of view with a happy ending.

* I was given an ARC of this book courtesy of the author via NetGalley. The excerpts are from that copy. *

More reviews * Stalk us on FaceBook * As well as Twitter * Pinterest Board for Book Teasers

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

