Review: Someone like You

Posted on

Someone like You
Someone like You by Lauren Layne
My rating: 4 of 5 stars


The long awaited story of Lincoln Mathis, the flirtatious virtuoso is deliciously steamy and heartfelt.

Lincoln Mathis has an enormous secret he hides behind a womanizing façade he actively encourages backed by his dating and sex advice column at Oxford. Everyone thinks he’s the ultimate playboy, except the one woman he barely knows and has seen beyond the sexy exterior. Revealing his heartbreaking past to the feisty Daisy Sinclair felt as natural as breathing because he knows no matter how attracted he is to her, he can never allow himself to have her.


“I don’t. They come to me. I’m like the stamen.”
Emma stared at him with her wide, slightly accusatory brown eyes. “The what?”
“The stamen. The pollen-producing part of a flower, Sinclair. Don’t you watch the Discovery Channel? Animal Planet? I just saw a very compelling documentary on bees. See, when the bees land on a flower, their little feet pick up pollen from the stamen…”
“Mathis. Are you talking to my fiancé about semen?”
Alex Cassidy asked, coming up beside Emma and setting a possessive hand on her waist.

Daisy knows to stay away from men who project trouble with a capital “T.” After her demoralizing divorce, she really doesn’t want anything to do with men, much less a gorgeous one with a quick smile and a flirty quip at the ready. After he reveals his secret though, Daisy realizes they’re both kindred spirits. As their lived start to twist around each other’s, Daisy begins to fall for the beautiful, damaged man. But can she convince him they’re good for one another?


“I have nothing to give back, Daisy. Oh, I’d give you pleasure. We’d give each other that. But I’d take absolutely everything – I’d fucking consume you. You’d want something in return, and I’d have nothing. I’m hollow inside, and you deserve so much more.”

I loved the charming and enigmatic Lincoln Mathis ever since Lauren Lane introduced him, and I had been waiting for his story ever since. I wasn’t sure what he was hiding underneath that enchanting veneer, but I was sure this book would be different from all the rest. Lauren Layne delivered a story that made me smile, laugh, tear up as well as fan myself with both heartbreaking and heartwarming potency.

“You must be Lincoln Mathis, The Manwhore of Whom I Should Beware?”
“Which would make you Daisy Sinclair, Delicate Flower to Whom I’m Not to Speak.”

Lincoln and Daisy are interesting and appealing characters. They have an incredible back and forthright off the bat. They’re well layered and perfect for each other. Besides having a strong attraction (those sexy times are HOT!), they complement and understand one another. Their bond slowly builds and strengthens as they become good friends who share secrets and support one another. Although they’re road to happiness is not without its troubles they do find it in a delightful epilogue that left me smiling like a Cheshire cat.


“I happen to like our story… Especially now that it’s taken a turn for the naked.”

Lauren Layne creates a marvelous romance full of passion and drama I couldn’t put down. I’ve enjoyed every single book in this series and the original Sex, Love and Stiletto and I fully appreciated having the entire gang back that certainly felt like a “plus-sized Friends episode.” It was great to see their expanding families while they all help Lincoln and Daisy out.

Oh and hey! I almost forget, I got a real kick out of Lauren Layne’s shout out to the three romance novelists, two of whom I’ve read and loved. See if you can stop them and know who they are!

Someone Like You is book 3 in Oxford Series by Lauren Layne that can be read as a standalone. It’s written from both points of view and interconnecting characters from past books. I recommend it for readers that like touching and sexy romances with a sweet happy ending.

4.5 stars

* I was given an ARC of this book courtesy of the author via Tasty Book Tours. The excerpts are from that copy. *

More reviews * Stalk us on FaceBook * As well as Twitter * Pinterest Board for Book Teasers

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review: Someone like You

    happilyeverafterromancebookreviews.com said:
    November 21, 2016 at 6:10 pm

    OMG I can’t wait to read this. I’ll be looking out for the shout outs.:-)

    Like

Leave a Reply

