Review: Pull Me Close

Posted on

Pull Me Close
Pull Me Close by Sidney Halston
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


Pull Me Close is a fascinating and intense read about fear and the healing power of love. A sweet, sexy and heartfelt unputdownable story.

“My illness does not define me. I define me.”

When Katherine’s sister decides to throw an engagement party at one of Miami’s hottest night clubs, Katherine decides she can brave the outside world and even though she takes precautions, the panic attack that assails her is inevitable and renders her unconscious. Waking up to find a very attractive yet angry club owner who accuses her of drug abuse is almost as disturbing as the previous night. Setting out to explain her condition she starts a friendship that will change her life forever.


“Her eyes are wet, and I can tell she’s trying to hold back tears. The depth of her sorrow and torment are laid out bare on her face in a way that takes my breath away.”

Two of Nico’s most important people in his life have lied and used him, leaving him with zero tolerance. So when he’s forced to help out a girl who passed out in his bar most likely due to drugs all he wants to do is get rid of her no matter how attractive she is. He’s more than skeptical when she tells him about her affliction, but after doing some research he starts to appreciate her courage. The more he gets to know her the more he wants to help and protect her and have her as his, but can he help her enough to have a normal and healthy relationship or will his life next to her be reduced to her tiny apartment?

“I’m not going to let you push me away when we’ve barely just started getting to know each other. Plus I’d really like to kiss you again. I’m coming over.” ~Nico to Katherine

I had no clue what this book was about except that it was written by Sidney Halston, and just for that I wanted to read it. I was hooked from page one with the interesting title name and Katherine’s compelling description of having a panic attack, right up to the very end where thanks to her backbone and the love of a patient and caring man she finds herself truly living happily.

“Just breathe, corazón,” I say into her hair. “Because it’s really that simple.” Strangely enough, even though she’s tormented inside, she’s actually a balm to me. Her presence is calming.

This is the part of my review where I normally talk about the hero and heroine and their relationship which perhaps include a bit more details than the book’s synopsis or my summary. But if you’re like me, who trusts her authors (meaning those authors who you love and will read not matter what) and craves adventure once in a while, you’ll stop reading after this paragraph and jump right into this very emotional, heartfelt read knowing only that Sidney does a wonderful job at hashing out the complex characters and developing an intense love story that will stay with you for a long time.

If you’re still reading though, then I guess you want more deets, but since this review is already a bit long, I’ll try to be brief. Even though Katherine’s anxiety disorder confined her to her apartment, she had a great personality and even greater strength and every time she remembered the event the caused her PTSD I got chocked up myself because I remember in detail what I felt during and after the events of 9/11. And knowing that like our fictional heroine, there must be thousands of real life stories like hers adds real and raw layer of emotions to this story.

Nico was an incredible book boyfriend. As a friend recently described the type, he’s mean, moody and completely alpha male sexy. He has his own issues that make him skeptical of everyone, keeping tall walls around himself but once he lets Katherine in there’s nothing he won’t do to help and protect her. He’s thoughtful, caring, patient and have I mentioned sexy? Completely swoon worthy. I highlighted so many great moments between them I wish I could share with you! I’ve tried to pick the best ones though.

“I’ve been researching… Tell me what you need. I want to help.”
“Pull me close and hold me tight.”


Finally I need to mention Nico’s brother, Matt, whose book is up next. He seems to be fun and laid back but we know that he has his own demons. I can’t wait to read about him and hopefully we can get at least a novella for Geo and David, Nico’s best friend and his wife who are great supporting characters and get caught up in a completely OMG I didn’t see that coming twist.

“I’ve decided I’m going to let myself fall in love with you,” I say.
His smile fades. He brings his other had to my cheek, those emerald eyes looking intently at me. “Then you need to catch up, baby, because I’m already in love with you.”

Pull Me Close is book #1 in the Panic Series by Sidney Halston. It touches on real issues caused by real life events, wrapped up in a sweet and sexy story. It’s a standalone contemporary romance, written from both points of view with a happy ending.

Author’s pinterest board -> https://es.pinterest.com/shalston/pan…

* I was given an ARC of this book courtesy of the author via NetGalley. The excerpts are from that copy. *

More reviews * Stalk us on FaceBook * As well as Twitter * Pinterest Board for Book Teasers

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

