Review: Slow Burn

Posted on

Slow Burn
Slow Burn by Pamela Clare
My rating: 4 of 5 stars


Pamela Clare writes delightfully fun and exciting, and irresistibly hot contemporary romance that’s sure to entertain.

Vacation is not a word Victoria Woodley uses often, except when her best friend is getting married and there is a week’s worth of activities to attend to. The only down side is that as the maid of honor she’ll most likely be spending a lot of time with the best man. The smug and sexy chief of the fire department, Eric Hawke. Something she’s dreading since her recent track record with men left her somewhat skittish. Can she trust herself to take a risk on the irresistible man?

“Do you trust me Victoria? Climbing is about two things: skill and trust. Skill can be taught, but you’ve got to have trust to get anywhere. I promise I won’t let you fall.”

Eric Hawke’s busy schedule doesn’t have room for a relationship, especially not with an out of state woman whose idea of going outdoors is probably lounging in a patio. But from the moment he saw Victoria he can’t deny his attraction to her and the more time he spends time with her during his best friend’s week long pre-wedding activities, the more irresistible she becomes. Can he convince her to take a chance on them before their time is over?

“Firemen are my favorite color.”

I met Eric and Vic at the end of Barely Breathing, the first book in this series and I loved how their instant like and loathe start of their relationship made me want to get to know them. As Austin and Lexi’s (the main characters from the previous book) wedding pushes the plot forward through lots of fun in the sun activities like hiking, wakeboarding and horseback riding, it also drives Eric and Vic to get to know one another and what started as a tentative and cordial friendship turns into a deep and burning connection.

“I haven’t had you inside me for thirty-six hours, and I’m dying. Isn’t it your job to save people?”

One might initially think Eric is an incorrigible womanizer especially since he practically advertises it! He’s actually a loyal friend, wonderfully caring son and brave and dedicated member of his community with a big heart underneath his flirty and cocky exterior. Victoria is perfect for him with all her sass, smarts and equally caring heart albeit a bit reticent due to the deception at the hands of a scheming man. But Eric helped her build back her confidence with tenderness.

“Bumper stickers? I put them on my truck because I think they’re funny, not because I’m advertising.”
“I’m surprised you don’t have one that just says, ‘Hey, I’m a fireman. Want to play with my hose?’”
“That’s pretty good. Do you want to play with my hose?”


Unlike the previous book in this series, there’s no big drama but Pamela’s character hooked me none the less. I appreciated the wonderful scenery that was richly described and made me feel as though I was right there enjoying their expeditions with characters who’ve become friends (there were cameos from the I-Team series that made my day) as much as liked to accompany Eric on this fireman and rescue tasks and I of course loved getting to know both Victoria and Eric.

“Oh, my God!” she whispered. “I’m being carried by a fireman!”

Even though I thought Victoria and Eric’s relationship was going to be of the frenemies to lovers variety, it was mostly very fun, sweet, hot and very romantic. The entire book centered on them and their budding relationship and the end was very much hearts and flowers.

Slow Burn is book #2 in the Colorado High Country series by Pamela Clare. It’s a standalone, contemporary romance full of fun and sexiness with a happy ending.

4.5 stars

* I was given an ARC of this book courtesy of the author via NetGalley. The excerpts are from that copy. *

More reviews * Stalk us on FaceBook * As well as Twitter * Pinterest Board for Book Teasers

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

