Review: Saven Defiance

Posted on

Saven Defiance
Saven Defiance by Siobhan Davis
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


Another heart-stopping installment in the Saven series. Siobhán Davis crafts a fascinating story full of suspenseful drama, nail-biting twists, and sweet angsty love burdened with the threats that come with intergalactic war that’s impossible to put down.

“We don’t have time for all this personal drama.” My eyes flit between Logan, Haydn, and Ax. “And it’s not fair on the others. The atmosphere is horrendous because of what’s going on between us. And I’m so tired of it. All of it… So sort your shit out, and get your act together. Until then,” I say, turning around. “Leave me the hell alone.”

After receiving the awful revelations of her past from the evil Griselda and some shocking ones from her son Axton, Sadie is more determined to help Logan set things to right on Earth, Saven and the galaxy with the help of her friends or at least tentative allies.
them and want nothing less than universal domination.

Haydn lets out a low whistle. “You’re a real piece of work.”
“It’s okay,”
I say, turning to face him. “I got the memo.” He arches a brow. “The one that says you hate my guts. There’s no need to rub it in.”

Forced to take shelter on alien land while trying to combine forces with heirs from different planets, new facts come to the fore that have devastating consequences all the while their enemies plot against them to take revenge against them regardless of mass destruction they might cause.

As turmoil reigns around her, Sadie’s heart is in equal disarray fighting to protect the people she loves. While she forever commits her heart to one boy, her relationship with another spins out of hand. Sadie might just find out that she can’t always win.

“My heart can’t exist without yours.”

It’s taken me almost two weeks to have the time to properly review this book. It’s so well written though, that it didn’t just give me a book hangover for a couple of days while I got my next reading fix. I can close my eyes and replay every brilliantly described scene and recall every emotion it provoked as if I had just finished it moment ago.

Saven Defiance pics up right where Saven Denial (novella #2.5) left off, where Sadie finds herself between her old friends who doubt her intentions and her new friends who she can’t fully trust. The story has a full throttle pace from start to finish, pushing Sadie from impossible to battle win situations to incredibly sad and angsty ones to deliciously sweet and swoony. One this is for sure, there were be casualties of war and of the heart.

“The feelings I have for you are undeniable. My heart is yours. Always. I won’t ever regret choosing you.”

“All that matters is the man in front of me. My soul mate. My eternal love. The other half of me.”

As a whole, Sadie and her friends have to deal with an all-out war on different fronts, including Logan’s brother, Ax’s malevolent mother Griselda and a host of other worlds who’ve decided to rally against them.

On a personal level Sadie is frequently reminded of her unique background by the incendio-barring bracelets and constantly concerned with the two boys she cares about most. No one knows how to help on the former, and her heart has long since chosen regarding the latter even though there are parts of her past she doesn’t remember. While one love blooms eternal the other withers in agony.

“I can’t lose you, Sadie. I just can’t. Every day I die a little more inside.”
____________________________
“He breaks down, and massive sobs rock his body. His chest heaves as tortured cries waft through the air. There is something so raw, so visceral, so heartrendering, about witnessing such a strong, impressive man reduced to a base emotional state.”

I would love to tell you more about everything regarding this story because it’s so good. I’m sure if you read other reviews you can get more details, but I’m keeping it vague because I believe finding out each revelation to be part of the enjoyment. And trust me when I say there are A LOT of revelations and shocking twists of fate which gave me heart palpitations and had me gripping my eReader. I will add that I loved every single character new and old, they all moved me in one way or another and my nerd girl side reveled in everything sci-fi from new worlds to alien technology.

Saven: Defiance is the third book in the Saven series by Siobhán Davis which I strongly suggest not be read as a standalone but rather in order, including the novella Saven: Denial. It is a fantastic Young Adult, fantasy/sci-fi, dystopian romance full of drama, angst, thrills and sweet swoonage with amazing new worlds, endearing characters and a plot that’s unputdownable. Told from the heroine’s point of view that ends with a cliffhanger. Yes, another one 😉

Head on over to Siobhan’s blog for an excerpt…
http://myyanabookobsession.com/cover-…

* I was given an ARC of this book courtesy of the author. The excerpts are from that copy. *

More reviews * Stalk us on FaceBook * As well as Twitter * Pinterest Board for Book Teasers

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

