Review: Out of Bounds

Posted on Updated on

Out of Bounds
Out of Bounds by R.S. Grey
Dali’s rating: 4.5 of 5 stars

R.S. Grey pens another intense, explosively hot and impossible to put down sports romance about an underdog gymnast and her stern and sexy coach. 

 

“I liked the little game we were playing and I’d die before I let him see me falter.”

After winning three consecutive World gymnastic championships, Brie Watson is slated to become the next Olympic gold medalist. Something she desperately wants, not just because she has tirelessly dedicated almost her entire life to gymnastics, but because she wants to be able to give back to her mother, the woman who had selflessly sacrificed so much to get her there.

To do so however she must survive the next month of training, and the Olympics themself under the hash and watchful eye of the newly appointed head coach.

Erik Winter needs to prove to himself, the critics and his country that he can lead his team of elite gymnasts to top. Luckily he has an incredible team. Unfortunately his most talented athlete respects no boundaries, isn’t intimidated by him, pushes all buttons and has taken permanent residence under his skin.

Can these two put a ceasefire long enough to win gold? Or will their constant warring stoke the fire to also win over their hearts?

“I was playing with fire-no, I wasn’t just playing with fire; I was rolling in it. I was so confident I wouldn’t gt burned, I didn’t realize how deep into the flames I’d fallen.”

After falling in love with Scoring Wilder, I’ve made it a point not to miss R.S. Grey’s books. Her writing always feels fresh with a smooth flow, endearing characters, and new and different stories that captivate from start to finish. Out of Bounds delivers on all counts. I highlighted about half the book, entire sections at a time that gave me all kinds of feels.

Brie is incredible. Her background story brought tears to my eyes and fiercely made me wanted her to win. She’s strong, determined, persistent, headstrong a spitfire. In short, someone who deserves to be on top of a medal stand and the perfect match for Erik Winter.

Erik on the other had was a tough sell for me. He had almost a decade’s worth of age and experience on Brie not to mention the fact that he was her coach (kind of a forbidden romance). He’s challenging, domineering and terse. I understood why he tried to deny his attraction to Brie and wanted to keep their relationship strictly coach-athlete. Yet his emotions and actions tilted like a seesaw and when he was a downslide he tended to be truly mean and uncaring towards Brie’s feelings, which made it difficult for me to connect with their budding romance. In all honesty, the blurb does say Brie wouldn’t wish him on her worst enemy, so I can’t say I wasn’t warned, but I would have liked for him to beg, suffer and squirm a bit more.

“You aren’t special, Brie, so stop acting like it.” His words had the same effect as a knife to my heart.

Of course their constant battles and push-pull made their relationship that much more intense and combustible. They were like matches and gasoline with sizzling chemistry.

“He was a sweet poison and I was so addicted, I didn’t care that our encounters left me choking for air.”

I loved his grand gesture and they do eventually find their balance which made for a very happy and fitting ending. Although just one epilogue? Really? R.S. Grey has spoiled me!

“I don’t know what the future will hold for us, but I’m asking you to trust me, to trust that I won’t take your love lightly.”

I also loved the camaraderie between the girls in team USA gymnastics. They were charming with very different personalities which gave an added layer and contributed fun and sweetness to the story as a whole.

Out of Bounds is book #2 in the Summer Games series by R.S. Grey. It’s a standalone, contemporary sports romance told from both points of view with a happy ending.

4.5 stars

Author’s pinterest board -> https://es.pinterest.com/RSGrey/the-s…

* I was given an ARC of this book courtesy of the author. The excerpts are from that copy. *

More reviews * Stalk us on FaceBook * As well as Twitter * Pinterest Board for Book Teasers

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

