Review: Bossman

Posted on

Bossman
Bossman by Vi Keeland
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


Delightfully fun, addictingly sexy. Bossman is a perfect blend of wit, humor and sultriness all wrapped up in a dirty office romance that will touch your heart and make it swoon.

One could say Reese Annelsey hasn’t had the best of luck lately. She needs to find a job ASAP and is in a dating rut. Her current date being so bad she’s hoping a fake friend emergency will get her out of it. But the obnoxious, gorgeous stranger who just a few minutes ago called her on the uninspired excuse in the hallway has now crashed her date with his own and is spinning fake stories about being old school friends with her, non-existing embarrassing first kisses and even endearments? Buttercup, really?

As the night winds down though, Reese finds that she’s been enjoying her double date with the meddling, sexy, professional liar Chase Parker and doesn’t want it to end because the chances of every seeing the man again are slim to none. And the chances of him becoming her boss, completely nil right?

I haven’t read a lot of Vi Keeland’s books, but what I’ve read so far makes me want to automatically one-click everything she produces, especially with those covers! And what’s inside is equally good, if not better. I was completely hooked with this story right from the start. Can you imagine that entire date scene? It had me laughing aloud and unable to put the book down.

“I find I’m more creative in the evening. Sometimes after I’ve climbed into bed and shut off the lights, an idea will come to me for something I was trying all day to focus on.”
“I’m very creative when I shut off the lights and slip into bed, too. Maybe we should try that together sometime? Probably produce some amazing results-twice as creative and all.”

Reese’s luck certainly improved as she bumped into Chase again while on another semi-date, this time though they exchange phone numbers while Reese tells him about her job hunt and in an effort to help her out, Chase inadvertently sets her up to fill a vacancy at this company where he doesn’t want to hire her at first because he’s clearly attracted to her and wants to date her himself. But she wants the job too much so she won’t let him cross inappropriate lines… or at least she’ll try.

“So we’re good? I apologize, you accept? You’re going to kick ass in the interview and get hired, then I’m going to try to get in your pants, and you’re not going to let me.”

Chase is one of those heroes you just love from the start. He exudes confidence and sex appeal, he’s smart and charming and behind this wonderful package there’s a man who’s suffered deeply, which makes him even more real and likeable. Reese’s Peanut “buttercup” is equally delightful matching Chase quip for quip and is strong and funny. A perfect match.

“I was the balance to his unsteadiness. He was the courage to my fear.”

Even though the cover screamed “fun, sexy times,” I don’t think I was prepared for how much I liked everything about it. Every stage of their relationship was equally enjoyable, from their humorous meet cute, the sassy, sexy chase, to the hot dirty conquest and the heartfelt realization that they were completely meant for each other. I was completely invested in them and didn’t want it to end.

“You’re fired,” he groaned as he buried his face in my hair. “So f*cking fired”

Bossman is a standalone contemporary romance by Vi Keeland. It is a fast paced, funny, sweet, sexy and touching story that’s sure to please any romance lover. Told from both points of view that has a happy ending.

* I was given an ARC of this book courtesy of the author via NetGalley. The excerpts are from that copy. *

More reviews * Stalk us on FaceBook * As well as Twitter * Pinterest Board for Book Teasers

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

