Review: Sugar Rush

Posted on

Sugar Rush
Sugar Rush by Sawyer Bennett
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


Revenge, murder and romance. All the necessary elements for the sizzling, spine-tingling continuation of the equally hot and exciting “Sugar Daddy” by Sawyer Bennett.

A few months ago, Sela Halstead couldn’t see beyond the retaliation she needed to exact on her attacker Jonathon Townsend, co-founder of the Sugar Bowl. After meeting and living with JT’s partner, Beck North, for almost a month, she thought that her happiness with the bad boy turned romance novel hero was better than revenge. But while JT is still in Beck’s life, can she really let go? Will she ever trust Beck enough to tell him the truth?

“When I gave my fill trust to you, I knew that you were more important than my revenge.”

Will one transgression from Sela destroy the tenuous but incredibly fulfilling relationship his built with her? Beck understands more about Sela’s situation than either of them could imagine. Once Beck allows her sincerity to sink in and he finds out the entire truth, their bond will become unbreakable and nothing will stand in his way to avenge her. But how far is he willing to go?

“Two souls who have preferred to be alone for holidays past, now bonded through circumstance, passion and a focused need for revenge.”

Sugar Rush picks up right where Sugar Daddy left off, in heartrending cliffhanger when Beck kicks Sela out of his condo after finding her going through his office, but just before he closes the door on her, she blurts out her tragic truth about how she knows his friend and business associate.

I would never dream of telling you what happens and spoil your fun and enjoyment. I will say that Sawyer Bennett’s story telling ability goes beyond hooking the reader with a scorching hot story, she creates an addicting tale with unpredictable twists that is impossible to put down. I literally couldn’t sleep until I completely devoured this new phase in Sela and Beck’s story and then went back to read it all over again even though it ends with another cliffhanger, or perhaps because of it because I want more of Beck and Sela.

“My core essence as a human being finally recognizes with complete clarity it’s other half.” ~ Sela
“My feelings for Sela are overwhelming to me at the worst of times, and infinitely comforting at the best of times.” ~ Beck


The direction Bennett takes Beck and Sela is completely different than what I had expected but I definitely liked it. Of course they go through a difficult patch in which they need to learn to trust each other, but once they do, their growth is wonderful to see. We get a lot more of Beck and his sister Caroline’s backstory. If I liked him before, I totally adored him in this book. He’s sexy, caring, protective, understanding, did I mention sexy? Yep, absolutely swoon worthy.

“Everything I do is with the idea in mind of solidifying my future with her.”

We also get the sad details about what happened to Sela that horrible night ten years ago on her birthday and there are many other revelations that almost make me want to start a betting pool on how things will unravel. I can’t wait to see where she takes them in the final book.

Sugar Rush is book #2 in the Sugar Bowl series by Sawyer Bennett. It is a thrillingly hot contemporary romance. This is not a standalone book, its predecessor should be read first. Told from both point of view that ends with a shocking cliffhanger that left me wanting the next and final book yesterday. Sela and Beck’s story will conclude with Sugar Free.

* I was given an ARC of this book courtesy of the author via NetGalley. The excerpts are from that copy. *

More reviews * Stalk us on FaceBook * As well as Twitter * Pinterest Board for Book Teasers

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

