Review: Grin and Beard It

Posted on Updated on

Grin and Beard It
Grin and Beard It by Penny Reid
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


Funny, smexy, heartwarmingly romantic and inspiring.

Oscar winning comedy actress and writer Sienna Diaz has become Hollywood’s “it” girl even though she’s a plus-sized Latina that doesn’t conform to tinsel town’s skinny as a stick standards. Her secret: she’s happy with her body, with who she is and doesn’t care what others think.

“Think of how much better the world would be if people craved compliments about the beauty of their heart rather than the beauty of their face.”

Tired of all the attention and lack of privacy though, she takes off alone to Green Valley, Tennessee to her next project without considering she has no sense of direction, placing her lost and confused in the path of incredibly attractive Ranger Grins-a-lot. Living in Hollywood has numbed her against amongst beautiful people, but can she resist the highly charismatic Jethro Winston?

“Irrational anger bubbled to the surface and all I could think about was murdering the map. I would show the map who was boss. I was boss… Stupid map, making me do cardio. I’ll kill you!”

Wanting to belong to something important, be part of a group of loyal people, Jethro, the oldest Winston brother spent the greater part of his youth making too many bad decisions as part of biker gang. When his best friend died five years ago, he realized he already had a loyal family that loved him but whom he had neglected. He decided to become a new and better person, he also opted to be celibate until he got married. Can a woman who’s known as a man-eating serial dater derail him from his best intentioned plans to find his forever person?

“She’d stolen my breath, robbed me of thought and sense. She was a master thief, and I loved her for it.

I don’t know what made me fall harder, if it was the skilled writing, the wonderful development of layered and complex characters or the sweet romantic story or all of it together. What I do know is that Penny Reid’s books always feel fresh, smart and hilarious. I couldn’t stop laughing and smiling.

Being both “professional charmers,” Jethro and Sienna have playful hilarious sexual banter and incredible chemistry. Their relationship unfolded effortlessly with a slow burn, yet the emotion that flows between them blazed up the pages captivating my heart absolutely. These are smart, unforgettable characters with wonderful personalities.

“I can’t think of a single thing more important than driving around a woman who loves me.”
“…Do you really want to saddle yourself with a directionally challenged, prematurely love-declaring weirdo for the next twelve weeks.”
“…I can’t think of anything I want to do more than take you for a ride twice a day.”

Jethro is more than hot, witty, funny and capable. He’s thoughtful, sincere and caring, which had me swooning.

“If I have wild success, and I hope I do, it’ll be as a husband and father, a brother and an uncle… I would want forever with you.”

Sienna was a magnificent heroine, I just adore reading about strong, smart women. The fact that she faced odds stacked up against her with a smile made her even more appealing. And oh my! Some of the things that came out of her mouth were HEE-LARIOUS. Others though were sweet, loving and tender. They cut to the soul and I loved every single word, stare and interaction between Jethro and Sienna.

“Don’t ration the passion, i.e. put your best fuck forward.”

The good characterization didn’t end with the swoony hero and awesome heroine. All of Jethro’s brothers we’re unique and interesting, but without a doubt Cletus was the best. I loved his peculiar way of doing things, of giving support, advice and comic relief. I can’t wait to see who he’s paired up with.

This story is more than a romance, it’s about forgiveness and family, about love and fighting for what’s important.

Grin and Beard It is book #2 in the Winston Brothers series by Penny Reid. It’s a standalone contemporary romance that will make you smile, giggle and swoon. Told by both points of view with a happy ending.

* I was given an ARC of this book courtesy of the author. The excerpts are from that copy. *

More reviews * Stalk us on FaceBook * As well as Twitter * Pinterest Board for Book Teasers

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

