Review: Inseverable

Posted on

Inseverable
Inseverable by Cecy Robson
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


A deliciously fun, sultry and heartwarming story I couldn’t put down!

“She’s my brightness, my light, even though I never intended her to be.”

After eight years of service to his country as an army sniper, an emotionally distressed Callahan has gone back stateside to the island of Kiawah wanting to get away from everything and everyone, craving a solitary life avoiding all types of emotion. But everyone knows what they say about the best laid plans though, because Callahan didn’t count on the perky Trinity who is intent on demolishing all his walls with her lack of filter, unwavering empathy and “intolerable” sunny disposition.

“I don’t want to feel anything. Maybe that’s why Trinity pisses me off more than she should, around her I feel… everything.”

Following a broken heart by the only guy who’s seen her as other than a little sister or best friend, and because of her upbringing traveling to help people in countries crippled by war or poverty, Trinity has enlisted to serve for two years in the Peace Corps but not before one last summer spent with her very best friends before they go forth and face the real world as adults. After meeting Callahan however, will she still go through with her plans and leave him behind?

“We all have our gifts, and if mine includes making others smile, I can’t complain.”

This is my very first Cecy Robson book and it certainly won’t be the last. She drew me in from the very beginning with a shocking prologue and kept me engaged with its loveable characters and touchingly sweet story.

“I confess, that while it was his appearance that first made me want to know him, it’s the man beneath all this muscle that makes me want to keep him.”

Trinity is one of the best heroines I’ve ever met, I totally wanted to be her friend. Besides being cheerful and fun, she’s absolutely selfless, reliable, sympathetic and won’t take no for an answer. She made me laugh, smile and even cry. I loved how exuberant she is and how she didn’t back down from the moody, taciturn ex-soldier.

“Are you lonely?” He lifts his head slowly, pitching me with such an intense stare, it holds me in place. “Not when I’m with you,” he whispers.

Callahan tried his best at not feeling anything for Trinity, he fought his attraction to her, but she’s an unstoppable a force of nature. Once he accepts her in his life, he’s loving and gentle with Trinity despite all the violence he’s lived through for the past years. He’s complex and absolutely swoony.

“Trin’s one of those rare and genuine young women with a smile so sweet you’d think she was made of honey. She shimmied, that’s right, shimmied her way into my life.”

The attraction between Callahan and Trinity is electric. I liked how their relationship developed, it has some angst but mostly lots of heart, I highlighted so many laugh out loud and swoony moments, almost the entire book looked yellow. Even if the way they resolved their biggest problem did feel a bit rushed, I enjoyed the writing, pace and flow of the entire story.

“I was lured to Kiawah by the desolate silence and peace I thought it promised… Instead I fell head over heels for the loudest, craziest, most in-you-face human being.”

The secondary characters are also very well developed. I loved Trinity’s parents and all her friends. Ican’t decide whose book I want to read next, whether it’s Trinity’s brother or her BFF’s or any of the guys in the gang, they’re all equally loveable. But whichever Cecy Robson decides to write next I’ll be sure to one click it.

Inseverable is book #1 in the Caroline Beach series by Cecy Robson. It’s a standalone, contemporary romance full of fun and sexiness, told from both points of view with a gushingly sweet happy ending.

4.5 stars

* I was given an ARC of this book courtesy of the author via NetGalley. The excerpts are from that copy. *

More reviews * Stalk us on FaceBook * As well as Twitter * Pinterest Board for Book Teasers

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

