Review: Barely Breathing

Posted on

Barely Breathing
Barely Breathing by Pamela Clare
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


Blazing hot, sweet and exciting. With Pamela Clare you know you’ll be getting contemporary romance at its best kicking off this appealing series with a delicious hero, a cute heroine and a full cast endearing supporting characters you’ll be sure to fall for.

Lexi Jewell didn’t just leave her tiny home town of Scarlet Springs twelve years ago, she practically ran to Chicago, leaving her family and her first love without looking back. But now she’s back to help her father, not quite sure what to do with the rest of her life and knowing she’ll run into Austin sooner or later. Can she disregard the sexy man he’s become?

Austin could not care less whether Lexi is back in town or not, right up until the moment he walks up to her on the side of road. His brain reminds him she broke his heart, but his body and heart have other ideas. Can he convince her to stay in the town he loves with him?

Pamela Clare was one of the first authors I read when I decided to graduate from YA paranormal to Contemporary Romance and let me say that she set the bar pretty high. I’ve read most of her books and loved all of them. She’s definitely an automatic one click author who I know I can count on for deliciously sweet romance laced with excitement. Barely Breathing is no exception. It’s a smooth flowing, fun easy read I didn’t want to put down.
Although I admit angst is sometimes necessary, it’s not my favorite emotion and I’m not a big fan so I was very pleased with how Lexi and Austin relationship developed. Wanting to ignore each other in the beginning because of their young mistakes and the hurt they caused one another but failing, to them being completely being unable to ignore their attraction and slowly and maturely rekindling their romance without unnecessary drama.
I really liked Austin and Lexi separately too. He’s caring and swoony, she’s smart and endearing and the chemistry they share is off the charts.

The secondary characters were equally appealing. Pamela introduces a bunch of interesting men and woman who I’m sure I’ll love to get to know. I’m especially curious about Austin’s best friend and hot fire fighter Eric Hawke. I also need to mention how much I LOVED having cameos of Gabe Rossiter (Naked Edge – I-Team #4) and Zach McBride (Breaking Point – I-Team #5) and all the excitement that Pamela is exceptionally skilled at.

Barely Breathing is book #1 in the Colorado High Country series by Pamela Clare. It’s a standalone, contemporary romance full of fun and sexiness with a happy ending.

4.5 stars

* I was given an ARC of this book courtesy of the author via NetGalley. The excerpts are from that copy. *

More reviews * Stalk us on FaceBook * As well as Twitter * Pinterest Board for Book Teasers

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

