Review: Stacked Up

Posted on

Stacked Up
Stacked Up by Sidney Halston
My rating: 4 of 5 stars


Totally cute, sweet and sexy! Another awesome read by Sidney Halston!

Until a year ago Penelope Richards lived an extremely sheltered, privileged life. Unwed, her famous preacher stepfather demands she give her baby up for adoption to keep up appearances. But Penny escapes to the small town of Tarpon Springs where she’s kept two jobs to sustain herself and her daughter. Even though she’s had a huge crush on the sexy MMA fighter from the moment she saw him, she’s kept to herself knowing he’s all about carefree fun and she’s completely devoted and responsible for her baby.

“Penny, darlin’ you’re the sweetest kind of sugar there is. You’re gonna make takin’ it slow the best kind of torture, aren’t you?”

Even though he could get any girl he wanted, for the past year Travis Calhoun has been spending his nights chatting up the shy and sweet bartender he can’t stop thinking about because she makes him feel at peace. After a night of delicious sensual revelations he wants more, but can Penny fit in his life and the budding career he’s worked his entire life for when he finds out she comes as a package deal with a tiny bundle of joy?

“I want you. I’ve had you, and it wasn’t enough. I need more of it. But I also don’t think I can do the family thing.”

Sidney Halston writes sexy, heartfelt stories. I can trust that I’ll enjoy them without taking a peek at the blurb because they’re written with heart and usually include themes such as forgiveness and embracing a better and happy future with charming and loveable characters that are sure to please.

“Forgiving isn’t about the other person… it’s about you. Forgive her so that you can move on. You’ll feel better for it.”

Travis is a smooth talking, hot MMA fighter who can make anyone smile. But his easy going manner is actually a façade for some self-worth insecurities he will have to resolve before he can move forward with Penny. I loved how he slowly transformed from oblivious and carefree to protecting and devoted. All the scenes with Travis and baby Belle were totally sweet and made it impossible not to fall for the sexy cowboy hat wearing man caring for a baby girl.

“You two somehow clawed our way into my little inconsequential life. I don’t even think I was living before I met you. I was just existing. No real emotions; nothing. Now that you’re here… My life has purpose. It has meaning.”

Even though Penny had grown up with extremely strict rules and sheltered, she’s no fool. I really liked her for her backbone when it came to her daughter. She may be oblivious to some things, but she’s a strong, caring woman who is perfect for Travis. I very much enjoyed how Penny and Travis open and honestly worked through their problems to be better for themselves and one another. And let’s not forget how much they heated up the pages during their sexy times!

“He needed to feel needed. Wanted. No one except his sister had ever loved him – ever.”

Even though this series has come to an end, I’m sure Sidney Halstone’s future projects will be equally fun and enjoyable. I can’t wait to see what she comes up with next!

Stacked Up is book #6 in the Worth the Fight series by Sidney Halston. It’s full of fun, sweet sexiness with an exciting MMA backdrop. It’s a standalone contemporary romance, written from both points of view with a hearts and flowers happy ending.

More reviews * Stalk us on FaceBook * As well as Twitter * Pinterest Board for Book Teasers

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

