Review: Charged

Posted on Updated on

Charged
Charged by Jay Crownover
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

An irresistibly sexy and heartwarming story about forgiveness, love and self-discovery where the hero and heroine blaze the pages with their delectably charged dynamics.

“Memories and mistakes are both beautiful and important in their own ways. Love and Ink, Jay”

Avett has spent a good deal of her life toeing the line, making wrong decisions, starting with her taste in men. The last of which took her down with him and now the only man who can get her out of spending time behind bars is the super-hot, high polished attorney who “looked like temptation and ruin, not salvation and redemption.”

Quaid’s usual suspects don’t usually include pink haired hurricanes, but after meeting the open and honest, yet feisty woman face to face he’s determined to help her and not even she can fire him. But can he stay on his side of the attorney-client line when the attraction between them increases with each passing day?

On the surface, they are completely different, but it’s a natural fact that opposites attract and when Avett Walker and Quaid Jackson’s lives cross paths they not only draw each other in, they explode in an array of sensual vibrancy and tenderness.

Jay writes the kind of books you crave to have and love to read. Every book has the right mix of drama, sharpness, romance, and sexiness with layered characters that feel completely different each time, even when I’ve read almost all her books.

“There was a pulse in the air, a vibration I couldn’t name, but it felt electric and more alive than anything that had crossed my path in decades.”

Despite the loving parents and upbringing, Avett’s went off the rails and she doesn’t have an easy road ahead. She knows the exact turning point when her life started going downhill until she hit rock bottom. Getting up will be difficult, but she’s not alone and with Quaid and her father as her most formidable supporters she’ll surely succeed. Something I’ve very glad for because despite her feeling unworthy, I liked her very much. She’s lively and kind and the perfect counter point to Quaid’s void life.

“This little slip of a woman could demolish me, waste me, annihilate me, and if I allowed her to do it, I knew it would feel better than anything had in a very long time.”

Groing up, Quaid had nothing but was resolute in having everything, but after his wife cheats and leaves him, he realizes that a life filled with high priced suites and baubles is worth nothing if you don’t have someone who truly loves you to share it with. Despite his confidence and even arrogance, I really liked that he wasn’t afraid to open up to Avett.

“I wanted to eat her up. I wanted her wild to consume, to burn and purge all the things that had long since turned sour and stale inside of me. I ached for her sweet to soothe me after we scorched through each other and were left in a heap in our own wreckage, covered in ash and satisfaction.”

I loved the age gap between them because it helped with their cohesiveness. She’s young but put her crazy behind her and Quaid has experienced enough to know a good thing when he sees it. These to burned up my eReader and had me highlighting good stuff in every other page. But there was more…

The relationship between Avett and her father was absolutely lovely. The all-encompassing love of a parent towards their child, no matter how old, deserves a special shout out. I loved that we got the side story of Avett’s parents which felt like a special bonus. I actually loved everything about this book, from its wonderful introduction, to the soothing narrative with its steady and Charged flow, to Quaid’s decisiveness to fight and keep the woman he loved, and finally Avett who fought to set her past behind and find herself in order to take hold of the perfect man for her.

“I’m taking your wild and sweet, Avett. I’m going to know what it feels like against me. I’m going to remember how it tastes and how it moves so that when I’m inside of it, I won’t get swept away by it all.”

Charged is the second book in the Saints of Denver series by Jay Crownover. This is a spin-off of her Marked Men series. It is a standalone, contemporary romance filled with scorching hot sexiness as well as incredibly sweet tenderness. Told from both points of view with a happy ending.

4.5 pink haired stars

* I was given an ARC of this book courtesy of the author via InkSlinger. The excerpts are from that copy. *

More reviews * Stalk us on FaceBook * As well as Twitter * Pinterest Board for Book Teasers

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

