Review: Wicked Heart

Posted on

Wicked Heart
Wicked Heart by Leisa Rayven
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


A wickedly addicting book that made my heart ache and swoon and my face hurt with so many laughs and smiles. Leisa Rayven perfectly blends wit, sexiness and angst, all the elements for a great romance. This book is going straight to my favorite and re-read lists.

“One day, fate’s going to fix this. Bring us back together. I believe that.”

Even though Elissa didn’t date actors, much less allow herself to fall for one, fate brought her and Liam together for the briefest amount of time during which they were blissfully happy. She had to believe it would continue to be that way. But Elissa’s career was firmly set to go on to Broadway while Liam’s up and coming stardom required him to move to Hollywood and shatter Lissa’s heart in the process.

“Heartache doesn’t teach you to be resilient. It teaches you to protect your fragility. It teaches you to fear love.”

From construction worker to super star, Liam Quinn did not only become a household name, he got engaged to his beautiful and equally famous co-star and both are set to play the lead roles in the Broadway show Elissa is the stage manager, charged to make sure everything goes on without a hitch.

However, six years have done little to dull Elissa’s love for Liam albeit she hides it well. Sort of. The moment they come into proximity of one another the attraction and torture skyrockets. She knows he’s off limits especially after everything he did, but as they start spending more and more time together the longing, desire and pull between them is impossible to ignore.

“I’ve missed you, Liss. It hurts not seeing you for all those years, but this? You being right here and me not being able to have you? Hurts so much more.”

She knows her heart is in real danger of being broken once again and that under the scrutiny of adoring fans and paparazzi one wrong move can be misconstrued and could ruin them both. Is their love worth the risk?

“Love in an asshole. It doesn’t care about people’s plans. It’s never convenient. It crawls inside of you at the most ridiculous times and makes you feel, whether you like it or not. And even after the time when you should have learned to stop loving someone, it just keeps holding on to them.”

Leisa Rayven had me on the brink between utter anguish and elation, hooked and desperately turning page after page wanting to get to the end while wishing it would never come. I loved the clever and humorous banter, the longing and angst, the incredible chemistry, delicious tension and swoony romance that kept my emotions on high throughout the story.

The attraction and connection between Liam and Liss is practically its own entity that lights up whenever they’re together, I reveled in the incredible tension Leisa built between them. There were a lot of other reasons to enjoy and love this book. The writing is wonderful, the characters are loveable and well development. And I mean all of them, not just the hero and heroine but the Elissa’s bestie Josh and Liam’s fiancée Angel. Yes, Angel was a total sweetheart you can’t help but fall for and Josh is a total hoot.

Just like Liss, my feeling towards Liam were complex.

“He’s the only man who’s ever affected me like this, and it’s safe to say I hold it against him.”

There were a few times I wanted to hate him for breaking her heart, but mostly he absolutely won me over with his charm and confidence, the way he flirts with Liss like his life depended on it and his overall swooniness.

“Ask me to give up a limb and I swear, I’ll find a way to do it. But don’t ask me to live without you anymore. I can’t. I’m so goddamn in love with you, it hurts.”

The story’s pace is perfect. I loved how they fell in love and based on his reaction towards her, I knew there was more behind their rift. When the plot twists are revealed (which I didn’t see coming by the way) it all made sense and I really appreciated that it wasn’t due to trivial miscommunication or the like, and of course delighted when in the end love conquered all.

“I used to think that if I just waited long enough, fate would bring us back together. That our stars would align, or whatever, and you’d come crashing back into my life to stay. But that didn’t happen. So now I say, screw it. I’m done waiting. Sometimes, fate is what you make it.”

Wicked Heart is book #3 in the Starcrossed series by Leisa Rayven. It’s a contemporary romance that can be read as a standalone. It’s told from the heroine’s point of view. With a happy ending. If you like a NA romance with all the feels, this is must read.

* I was given an ARC of this book courtesy of the author via St. Martin’s Press. The excerpts are from that copy. *

More reviews * Stalk us on FaceBook * As well as Twitter * Pinterest Board for Book Teasers

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

