Review: Blown Away

Posted on

Blown Away
Blown Away by Brenda Rothert
My rating: 4 of 5 stars


A sizzling hot and emotional story about heartache, self-discovery, love and the hope that dreams do come true.

“Sometimes loss and grief lead us to a new path.”

Drew McGovern never thought she would survive her fiancée’s death, much less move on with her own life. An unexpected run in and invitation by the leader of his storm chasing team a year later however, has her enthusiastic to escape her monotonous existance. But her eagerness is short lived when she feels the undeniable pull towards Aiden. Can she act on this desire without feeling guilty? Can she figure out the overwhelming emotions and desire that come with wanting her late fiancée’s best friend heart, body and soul? Most important of all, can she convince him that they’re perfect for one another?

“You’re the answer to every question I’ve ever had, Drew,” he said, his warm breath dancing over my skin. “The only one I’ve dreamed of for so long.”

Aiden O’Neal had a guilty secret not even his deceased best friend knew about. Since his adolescence, Drew was the fantasy woman he never thought he would ever have until she joins him in his storm chasing quest. He wants to honor Colby’s memory and safeguard his heart by trying to keep her at arm’s length. It’s proving to be an impossible task though. He’s wanted her for so long and they both recognize the mutual attraction and connection. But is he just her second choice, a replacement or does she want him as much as he wants her?

“He was a quite, storng, beautiful man who was alone in this world. My feeling for him ran deep, and he needed to know that.”

Brought together by a sad accident, Aiden and Drew go back and forth dealing with the heady attraction they feel almost immediately and subsequent emotional pull. The situation they face is beyond complicated, but it made their story all the more believable and them very relateable. Throughout their sexy and emotional back and forth I found myself cheering for them as they fought for a relationship that was worth taking every risk.

“You’re a handful, you know that?”
I grinned at him. “Like you’d know, Aiden. Your hands have never been on me.”

Drew is sweet and strong, a survivor. She hasn’t been dealt the best hand in life but she’s endured it and become a better person despite of it. Aiden has also suffered loss and gone through a great deal in life which has caused him to build thick walls around himself to keep everyone at bay. I wasn’t fond of how Aiden initially decided to separate himself from Drew but it was soon forgotten after seeing just deeply his feelings ran for her.


“She was my dream. I hated that my best friend’s death was the reason my dream had become a reality, but life was messy and painful sometimes. And when things got messy and painful, I wanted Drew to be there for me, just like I wanted to be there for her. Through storms and calm. Ups and dows. Good times and bad.”

This is my first Brenda Rothert and I hope it won’t be the last. Her writing is solid, the pace is smooth flowing and steady, the main characters are well developed and I loved the banter and chemistry between them. Even though the storm chasing was not as thrilling as other books of the same theme, it was exciting and gave the plot an interesting background.

Blown Away is a standalone, New Adult book by Brenda Rothert. It has a good dose of action, scorching hot and moving romance that kept me turning page after page. It’s told from both points of view. With a happy ending.

Rating 3.5 stars

* I was given an ARC of this book courtesy of the author via NetGalley. The excerpts are from that copy. *

More reviews * Stalk us on FaceBook * As well as Twitter * Pinterest Board for Book Teasers

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

