Review: Manhandled

Posted on

Manhandled
Manhandled by Cari Quinn
My rating: 4 of 5 stars


Rock on with this exciting and sultry story about a fabulous rock chick and her broodylicious bodyguard.

Faith Keystone known as Keys to most everyone, loves music, loves to interact with fans and be around people especially her happy band of rocker guys who she’s been playing the piano with for the past decade. But after a breach in security threatens her safety her overprotective family and her caring band mates insist that she have a bodyguard. She loathes all his rules, resents having to stay cooped up inside, and definitely hates his searingly watchful gaze. Or does she?

“Why did it have to be this contrary man with all his rules that got me so wound up?”

Quinn Alexander is a man of structure and order, peace and quiet. If it weren’t for the fact that he owes his best friend a favor he would never consider safeguarding an artist, much less a sassy, quirky one who distracts him with much more than sexy curves and makes his body and soul come alive. How many times will she give him the slip before he captures her heart forever?

“Her smile was huge and her laughter rang through the room… She practically shone like a beacon. It was fascinating and horrifying from a job standpoint.”
___________________________
“She was a natural entertainer with a gift of being fun and quippy and a laughter that drew people to her like a siren song. I know I was already in danger of crashing into the rocks for her.”


Cari Quinn and Taryn Elliott make a wonderful rock romance writing team. Once again I’ve been captivated by incredibly vivid scenes that make feel like I’m front and center at the best rock concert ever, by amazingly charming characters and a great plot.

“Lust and the driving need to protect her coalesced into a dangerous need to possess every molecule of passion I watched unfold on that stage… I’d been able to mostly resist her. Until now.”


What’s more awesome than a rock god? A sexy rock goddess and Faith fits the bill to a tee. She’s more than talented on the keyboard, she’s energetic, down to earth, sweet and the perfect match for the surly, taciturn ex-military man who’s determined to keep her safe.

Besides all the smiles I got from Quinn and Faith’s banter which toed the frenemy line while he battled with his sense of duty and emotions, the blushes that resulted in their slow heady build up, I also very much enjoyed all the time spent with the supporting characters. I liked being able to follow the happy couple from the previous book. If you liked their story you’ll love reading about them here. I enjoyed getting to know Faith’s band mates and almost brothers a bit more and all the fun and drama they add to the mix. Whoever is next, I know I’ll enjoy it.

“I was happily surrounded by my band, with Bats and Zach in a saggy loveseat across from me and Hunter. Owen was curled over his acoustic, strumming softly. And Wyatt was in a lotus pose on his pre-concert stretch mat. All of the perfection that I could stand.”

Manhandled is book #2 in the Hammered series by Cari Quinn and Taryn Elliott. It’s a delicious slow burn, entertaining read. It’s told from alternating points of view with a happy ending.

* I was given an ARC of this book courtesy of the author via NetGalley. The excerpts are from that copy. *

More reviews * Stalk us on FaceBook * As well as Twitter * Pinterest Board for Book Teasers

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

