Review: The Boss: Book Two

Posted on

The Boss: Book Two
The Boss: Book Two by Cari Quinn
My rating: 4 of 5 stars


Wickedly sensual and exciting.

Blake Carson has dedicated his life to build his empire… and watch her. She doesn’t know who he is and he never expected her to show up at his building hiding behind lies and practically demanding he give her a job. He did though because she’s as captivating and intriguing as ever. But now he’s in danger of having her tearing down his carefully constructed walls.

“Of course I couldn’t have her. No one could. It was impossible to trap a beam of sunlight. The only thing you could do was enjoy the warmth for as long as it lasted.”

This second part of The Boss serial starts off right where the first installment left off. Told from Blake’s point of view, we see just how much he’s shaken by the spontaneous and explosive sexcapade between him and Grace when they got trapped overnight in his office building’s lobby.

There are some revelations regarding the baffling billionaire including the fact that he feels undeserving of Grace and even though he knows who she is he doesn’t fully trust her motivations, therefore putting his professional façade back on to try to fight a losing battle. The bond between though, is undeniable and deep as the secrets they’re keeping from each other.

“Perhaps my so-called assistant had devised a plan on how to snag me, and I’d fallen right into her hands.”


As Grace keeps pushing him and he slowly gives an inch at a time, Taryn and Cari weave a captivating story that has me deliciously addicted.

“Y-yeah. Umm, not that this isn’t hella cool and all, but you’re not going to pull a Christian Grey, right? There’s an actual pilot that goes with this ride, isn’t there?”
I frowned. “You’re comparing me to a man who has his hired help clean his butt plugs?”

While Grace continues to make me smile with her sass, I loved getting to be in Blake’s head and his snarky, dry humor. I also liked his very alpha, caveman protectiveness over Grace and his dominant tendencies during their incredibly hot sexy times.

“You’re not walking alone to the train,” I said, daring her to defy me. To give me a reason to bend her over this sink and exert my will in a way that would make her scream with pleasure.

This is the second volume of six in The Boss serial. It is a short read, told from the hero’s point of view with a cliffhanger. It is strongly advised that these be read in order.

Amazon -> http://amzn.to/1T5P6Xf

* I was given an ARC of this book courtesy of the authors. The excerpts are from that copy. *

More reviews * Stalk us on FaceBook * As well as Twitter * Pinterest Board for Book Teasers

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

