Review: Denial

Posted on Updated on

Denial
Denial by Lisa Renee Jones

Dali’s review & rating: 5 of 5 stars

Thrillingly seductive and addicting. This fast paced story about a woman with amnesia kept me glued to my seat with its exciting suspense and chemistry that set the pages ablaze.

“The minute you stepped into my room,” he murmurs, nibbling at my neck, “you became mine tonight. Mine to tease. Mine to please…”

Ella wakes up in an Italian hospital room with a beautiful man next to her but without a single clue as to who she is or why she’s there. The only person tethering her to this world is Kayden, the attractive stranger who exudes power and has claimed her as his. He says she was being mugged while running from the mafia and that he has a plan to help them both, giving her just enough for her to believe him above all others including law enforcement. He takes her to his castle while she recovers from her concussion and they work to restore her memory.

“There are a lot of things I want to do to you, Ella, but I promise you, killing you isn’t one of them.”

The more she gets to know about his past and what he does, even when he openly admits it’s not exactly above the law, the more she wants to trust and care for Kayden. As small glimpses of her past trickle into her consciousness, the more determined she is to regain her memory and reclaim herself. But can her delicate relationship with Kayden survive when the truth finally comes out?

“You touch me like you own me.”
“I touch you like a man who wants you.”

Kayden Wilkens has as many secrets as he has enemies, with a past that torments him. Leader of secret group called The Underground. A cluster a people dedicated to “hunt” for anything or anyone for a price. Was it really coincidence that he was at the right place at the right time when Ella was mugged? Why is he so determined to help her?

“I protect what is mine. And you are mine.”

Ella was a wonderful character I really liked. Even though she’s in a very precarious position, not knowing herself or who to trust, she’s a fighter. She’s feels an inexplicable familiarity with Kayden, which both unnerves her and makes her feel secure with him. But regardless, she’s strong and brave and determined to look for a solution to her situation.

“Let me choose my own sins.”

Kayden is the kind of hero I relish. He’s a brooding, badass, alpha male with deep dark secrets. You can’t be completely sure you can trust him, but offsetting this is his deep loyalty and protectiveness to those he cares for which makes him totally appealing. And let’s not forget his addictively sexy! Even without knowing him fully, I couldn’t help but fall for him just like Ella.
The attraction and back and forth between Kayden and Ella is electric and while we know there’s a lot more than what meets the eye I can’t help but root for these two to overcome all the obstacles between them and find their way to happiness.

“He just stands before me, power and sex wafting off him like a seductive drug that if tried once would surely become a dangerous addiction.”

I loved the very interesting secondary characters revolving around The Underground which made the story richer and who, together with Kayden and Ella, I want to get to know more of.

“I want to believe you. But words and a kiss, no matter how beautiful aren’t enough when I’m fighting for survival.”

Lisa Renee Jones’ writing skill is palpable where even with the scorching chemistry she guides the reader through an intense and gripping plotline in which she raises more questions than gives answers piquing the interest and making me want to get my hands on her next book more than my next breath.

“You’re mine to lose – not his to take.”

This is my first Lisa Renee Jones book. I can’t believe I hadn’t read her before but I will be definitely be making time to read her previous books as well as her upcoming ones.
Denial is book one in the Careless Whispers series by Lisa Renee Jones. Told from the heroine’s point of view that ends with a cliffhanger. This is a spin-off of the Inside Out series.

Amazon -> http://amzn.to/1RSdHgW

* I was given an ARC of this book courtesy of the author via NetGalley. The excerpts are from that copy. *

More reviews * Stalk us on FaceBook * As well as Twitter * Pinterest Board for Book Teasers

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

