Review: Chance of a Lifetime

Posted on Updated on

Chance of a Lifetime
Chance of a Lifetime by Marissa Clarke
Dali’s review & rating: 4 of 5 stars


A wonderfully sweet, touching and fun to read book. I love it when I get to experience stories like this one where I didn’t know the author, didn’t know what to expect and got a huge grin at the end.

“What do you see?”
“Nothing but you.”

Gen Richards is a smart, strong, independent woman who can and wants to live life at its fullest. She’s also blind, but her family just can’t see the former and are fixated on the latter. Perhaps it’s their limitation as sighted people, but not hers. Determined to start living her life because it’s too short, she unearths the bucket list she made when she was fifteen. She never would have imagined that ticking off the first item – kiss a total stranger – would lead her to the man who broker her heart ten years ago. Will she find retribution or freedom while having Chance by her side through her bucket list?

“Freedom you earn is more powerful than the freedom handed to you.”

Chance Anderson has been Genny’s brother’s best friend since they were in grade school. Or was until a decade ago one imprudent act almost cost Genny’s life. Causing a rift between his friend and a permanent eviction from her life until she inadvertently entangles him in her bucket list. He loves taking risks, but can he risk his heart with the one woman he can’t have?

“He should have known by now that indulging addiction was reckless and never ended well. And he was as addicted to Gen as he was to adrenaline.”

I’m not completely sure how I came across this book’s blurb. But once I read it I couldn’t not find out more about it. The plot hinted at fun, the characters, especially Gen, intrigued me. I’m so glad I added it to my list because from the very beginning it drew me in and had me smiling until the very end. Ok, I admit at one point there was a bit of cursing at the heroine, but there was also laughs provoked by killer swans and great banter, and deep blushes with all the sexual tension and sexy times between Gen and Chance.

“What do I see? Your lips are pink and swollen from kissing me… Your color is high with excitement. Your hair is all a mess because I held on for dear life so I wouldn’t grope you in public.”

I really liked Gen, she’s quick witted, courageous and self-reliant and didn’t let her disability cage her. That’s precisely how Chance saw her which made them perfect for each other.

“What do you see?”
“My wildest dreams.”

It was wonderful to see how Chance supported her which helped Gen stand up to her family and to have Gen ease and eventually heal Chace’s guilt. Their reunion and romance was delightfully entertaining, swoony and incredibly sexy while they fulfilled Gen’s bucket list. I will definitely be adding Marissa Clarke to my authors-to-look-out-for list.

“You’re my first. My first love. My only love.”

Chance of a Lifetime is book #3 in the Anderson Brothers series by Marissa Clarke that can be read as a standalone with a happy ending. Told by both points of view.

Author’s Pinterest board for book -> https://www.pinterest.com/marylindsey…
Amazon US -> http://amzn.to/1OJTiK0

* I was given an ARC of this book courtesy of the author via NetGalley. The excerpts are from that copy. *

More reviews * Stalk us on FaceBook * As well as Twitter * Pinterest Board for Book Teasers

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

