Review: Hearts of Blue

Posted on Updated on

Hearts of Blue
Hearts of Blue by L.H. Cosway
Dali’s review & rating: 5 of 5 stars


Gorgeous. Magnetic. Exciting. Captivating. Witty. Sexy. A must read for any romance enthusiast.

“I want to be the only thief you chase after.”

I’m going to have a hard time tamping down all wonderful adjectives I’d like to put to this book. So while I get a hold of myself, I’m also going to change my usual review format. Instead of giving my version of the book’s synopsis I’m going to copy the author’s blurb because I don’t think I could do it justice.

She upholds the law. He breaks it.
Two blue hearts, both alike in bravery
In not-so-fair London, where we lay our scene
From gun crime to petty theft
Where family is blood and survival makes hands unclean
In this place, we find two hearts who should be foes
And yet, amidst the turmoil their love still grows
Misadventure abounds and the divide will bring them strife
But with luck, death doesn’t always mean an end to life.

Ok, so a bit more info before I go on with what I loved the most about this book. Hearts of Blue is the almost impossible story about police constable Karla Sheehan and car thief Lee Cross. It’s told from Karla’s point of view and has the perfect mix of flirty banter, sweet tender moments, and incredibly hot sexiness. It’s a beautiful story of how two people helped each other view the world with color instead of only black and white.

“Sometimes the innocent ones are guilty only because the world didn’t give them a chance to stay innocent.”

I was absorbed from the very start with its heart breaking prologue to the very last page with the sweet, heart-warming ending. I could barely put it down to eat and sleep.

“I don’t think us training together would be a good idea.”
“Yeah, you’re right. All those hormones and sweat flying around, who know what might happen.”

It’s no secret I love strong heroines. I really enjoyed that Karla could be hard and strong when it came to her job, but also soft and almost shy when it came to Lee. I felt so much for her because of the blows life had given her, but I admired that fact that she was so selfless and giving, becoming a police officer to help others. And with Lee, I loved how her black and white view of life she came to realize that it could be seen through different color filters.

Lee was perfect. He’s an incorrigible flirt, sweet and intense, with an answer for everything. I completely understood how he became a thief, but still valued such things as family and loyalty, and how through Karla’s eyes he found that he too could see the world differently. I adored how he was so protective of the people he valued and I thoroughly enjoyed how much he enjoyed cooking, it was incredibly sexy. And I haven’t even mentioned his mad skills at free running.

“Give me a chance, and I’ll prove to you that everything you think you see is blurred by perception.”

The dynamic between Karla and Lee is fantastic every step of the way. I enjoyed every single time Karla had to be exert her authority over Lee and how he constantly tempted her. The sexual tension snaps, crackles and pops right out the pages. I loved how their impossible situation enhanced their feelings for each other. And even though I knew they would have a happy ending, I really couldn’t figure it out and so I loved the bittersweet the twist at the end.

“Any excuse to slap a pair of cuffs on me, eh? If I didn’t know any better, I’d say you were something of a fledgling dominatrix,” Lee joked before leaning in close to whisper. “But we both know that’s not true.”

The Cross brother’s family dynamic and delightful secondary characters is another wonderful component and staple in L.H.’s books. She creates awesome multi-dimensional characters I want to get to know. And even though I was completely charmed by Trevor, one of Lee’s younger brothers, who threatened to steal the show a few times, I would really like to read about Stu next. His book can’t come fast enough.

Finally, L.H. doesn’t just write good characters with interesting plot lines. She has a way of making you part of the story, almost as if you could see Karla chasing down a criminal or Lee doing parkour trick. I could practically smell Lee’s delectable cooking and feel how their hearts ached and soared.

“Hurting with you is better than a painless life without you.”

Every time I satisfyingly close another of L.H. Cosway’s books I think “this is my favorite, I can’t imagine loving one more than this one.” And then I open up her next one and it blows me away. So I declare the entire Hearts series has a prominent spot on my favorite list.

Author’s pinterest board -> https://www.pinterest.com/lhcosway13/…
Pre-Order NOW -> http://amzn.to/1LMutJj
* I was gracefully given an ARC of this book courtesy of the author for an honest review. The excerpts are from that copy. *

More reviews * Stalk us on FaceBook * As well as Twitter * Pinterest Board for Book Teasers

More Teasers:

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

