Review: Revealed to Him

Posted on Updated on

Revealed to Him
Revealed to Him by Jen Frederick
Dali’s review & rating: 5 of 5 stars


An emotional, character driven story, filled with passion, steam, sweetness and fun I will no soon forget.

Born to a wealthy family, Jake Tanner could’ve had an easy charmed life. But his sense of honor and duty led him to enlist in the armed forces. After leaving the army rangers due to an incident that took his left arm and foot, he’s now a proud veteran, owner of a prosperous security company. He has friends, a loving family, doesn’t suffer from a shortage of willing women to warm his bed. He’s has conquered adversity and leads fairly content life. But when he sort of meets his newest client, his deep seated protector instincts flare like never before. Can he cross the professional line without risking Natalie’s safety?

“You learn quickly to be grateful for your circumstances because there are always people who have it worse than you.”

Video game and science fiction writer Natalie Beck suffers from severe anxiety due to too many threats and an actual attack. She’s house bound, but she’s also determined to be free of bindings be rejoin society. Even if this proves almost impossible as she can’t even bring herself to open her front door, much less meet new people. Her only contacts with other people are limited to her cousin, her editor and her therapist. But Jake has skillfully inserted himself in her life, and the more they get to know one another the more she begins to trust him and let the embers of desire burn. Will she accept his love or will she retreat even further into her almost complete solitude?

When I’ve read an author before and truly liked them, I usually don’t check for blurbs or other reviews when it comes to their new material. I just dive right in and was amazed with this story that even though main characters hadn’t met face to face, that the buildup was relatively slow and only through incredibly flirty and sweet chats and calls, I couldn’t stop flipping through the pages. I was entranced with the character development and loved that it felt so different from other contemporary romances I’ve read recently.

Me: Grunting is the key to manliness?
Him: It’s one of the keys. Also belching, scratching of the balls, being able to spit–not spray–actually spit.
Me: I don’t think I like manliness. Can we revisit the flannel? Maybe you should look into it. I bet you’d look ood in flannel.
Him: I shave. Daily. I think you have to have a beard to look good in flannel. Also, you are required to be holding an axe. I prefer guns. Besides, all my manliness is done in private.

I think it was brilliant how Jen combined a very disturbed agoraphobe with a very well-adjusted amputee veteran. Besides loving the attention to detail I’m sure was due to serious research on the author’s behalf, Natalie and Jake made for very interesting characters who were a perfect fit for one another, accepting each other as they were.

Jake was captivating with his perfectly imperfect body and fearless alphaness. He was patient, considerate and completely devoted to loving and helping Natalie. I admired Natalie’s strength and resolve and how she made Jake feel whole and completely normal.

“I’m scared of many things,” I whisper into the phone. “But not of you.”
“Good. I’ll never give you a reason to be afraid of me. I understand where you are coming from, Natalie. If your only contact with me is over the phone for a while, we’ll get creative.”

Even though I predicted early on who was behind the attacks, this did not take away from my enjoyment of the swoony romance. My only complaint is that at the end, even though the protagonists get their happy ending, I did have a few unanswered questions.

Never the less, I feel the need to read the past books in the Kerr Chronicles with Ian and Victoria, as they rounded out the story nicely along with Jake’s sister and his friend Kaga. I can’t wait to read the next installment.

Revealed to Him is book #3 in Kerr Chronicles series by Jen Frederick. Told from both point of view, with a happy ending. It can be read as a standalone.

Amazon US -> http://amzn.to/1P3IKFm

* I was given an ARC of this book courtesy of the author via NetGalley. The excerpts are from that copy. *

More reviews * Stalk us on FaceBook * As well as Twitter * Pinterest Board for Book Teasers

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

