Review: Loving Lucas

Posted on Updated on

Loving Lucas
Loving Lucas by Violetta Rand
Dali’s review & rating: 2 of 5 stars

Loving Lucas is the first book in the Lies and Leather contemporary romance series by Violetta Rand.

Karlie Augustine’s life has not been easy, she’s tough and determined to make life for herself though. But there’s one thing or rather person in her way, her boyfriend of almost two years who is equally resolved in keeping her by any means necessary, including force. As luck or fate would have it, Karlie is saved by a police badge wearing knight in shining… motorcycle?

Lucas Lafontaine just transferred to the Corpus Christi police force and found himself not just helping a beautiful damsel in distress but also getting to keep to clean and cook in exchange for a roof over her head. But his motives are not as selfless as wanting to protect her. He’s undeniably attracted to her and wants to help heal the invisible wounds inflicted by Karlie’s past, including her ex-boyfriend. Even with a custody battle for his son on his hands, he’s also intent on fighting for the woman he loves.

Right from the start I found it difficult to process the insta-love between Lucas and Karlie. I usually don’t have a problem with this when it feels believable, but the way in which the hero and heroine met suggested Karlie was in a delicate psychological state after leaving a two year relationship under frightful circumstances which should have been treated with patience and care and not rushed into a move in with me within a few minutes and sex in less than 24 hrs.

I also felt the character development to be forced and unrealistic, trying the blend together a mix of every book boyfriend and tough heroine quality one could think of. Although Karlie handled situations immaturely, I’m giving her a pass because of her age, but I can’t find it in me to do the same with Lucas who is older, should be wiser and just came across as selfish at times or overbearing at others.

The story incorporated too many clichés which coupled with odds bits made me not enjoy it. For instance, never having Lucas’ son appear in the story. The boy was just mentioned and it seemed incredibly irresponsible on Lucas’ part as a father to fight for full custody while rushing into a serious relationship of the forever kind with a girl he barely knows and have her be his son’s stepmother without them having even meet.

I was drawn in to this book by its cover and blurb which seamed appealing and something I would enjoy, because I love Abbi Glines’ Rosemary Beach series and Monica Murphy’s One Week Girlfriend one. I’m sorry to say my review is not a favorable one. It could be that others will like this book very much and it’s simply not for me. I really like the idea of a romance in the motorcycle world, so perhaps I’ll give this series another try.

* I was given an ARC of this book courtesy of the author via NetGalley. The excerpts are from that copy. *

More reviews * Stalk us on FaceBook * As well as Twitter * Pinterest Board for Book Teasers

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

