Fugly by @Mimi Jean Pamfiloff Book Blast

Posted on Updated on

blog-tour2
Enter to Win a 
FUGLY Prize Pack
5 Winners!

 

FUGLY
Mimi Jean Pamfiloff
Released Sept 15th, 2015
 
 
From
New York Times Bestseller Mimi Jean Pamfiloff Comes a New Stand-Alone Story.

UGLY IS IN THE EYE OF THE BEHOLDER…
My name is Lily Snow. I am twenty-five years old, and despite being born with an unattractive face, I have
never doubted who I am: smart, driven, and beautiful on the inside.

Until I met Maxwell Cole.

 

He’s handsome, excessively wealthy, and the owner of Cole Cosmetics. It’s been my dream to work for this man for as long as I can remember. The good news is he wants to hire me. The bad news is he wants me for all the wrong reasons. Ugly reasons.
In exchange, he’s offered me my dreams on a silver platter. The job. The title. A beautiful future. But this man
is as messed up and ugly as they come on the inside. I’m not sure anyone can help him, and he just might take my heart down with him.
 
BUY NOW
Amazon | B & N | iTunes | Kobo

 

Excerpt


“Be here tomorrow morning. Keri will show you your office,” he said flatly.

“You—you’re serious?”

He turned and frowned at me. “Don’t go backpedaling on me now, Miss Snow. Not after you’ve just shown me your pretty little teeth and sharp claws. We might make a CEO out of you yet.”

I shook my head no. “Not. Back. Pedaling.” Just wondering where the nearest exit was. Now I really felt like an idiot. I’d just proposed to my future boss that he have sex with me in exchange for my acceptance of his offer.

Wasn’t it usually the other way around?

And what was that other feeling? It was…shock or excitement or something connected to that little spot in my brain that controlled my sexual fantasies.

“Good,” he said. “Have your ass to my house Friday at eight p.m. sharp. And bring your running clothes.”

Today was Wednesday, so that meant I had two days to get psychiatric help. Wait. You’re not doing this. You can’t.

“You okay?” were the words he asked, but his tone and expression accused me of being a spineless coward.

I stared at him, trying to comprehend what was going through this man’s mind. Honestly, I was confused as hell. Possibly frightened, too. He, on the other hand, looked like he’d been given an injection of piss and vinegar. He also looked sort of…happy? Okay, maybe not happy, but excited or determined, like challenging me turned him the hell on. But that couldn’t be right.

“Why aren’t you sweating anymore?” I asked.

He blinked as if startled by himself. “It seems you’re already having a positive effect. Too bad it’s your ability to piss me the fuck off that’s doing the trick.”

Speechless, I turned for the door again and grabbed the handle. I needed to retreat. I was way over my head with this situation.

“Oh, and Miss Snow?”

“Yes?”

“Do me a favor, would you? Fire Craig on your way out. He’s the one waiting for me out there.”

I blinked. “Sorry?”

“It’s your first lesson in running a company: You’ll have to come down off that pedestal of yours and get your hands dirty.”

Review

Fugly
Fugly by Mimi Jean Pamfiloff
Dali’s rating: 5 of 5 stars


An emotional and thought provoking treasure. An incredibly moving read about facing our fuglies laced with Mimi Jean’s signature snarky fun.

“It takes the ugly truth of reality and makes it beautiful.” ~ Hannah R. on Fugly

Lily Snow has lived her entire life knowing she’s beautiful… on the inside. Even though she’s a very smart, driven career woman she’s also aware that her face is not on par with the rest of her. But it really doesn’t matter, no one has everything, and she does have everything she needs to get what she wants. Which is to own her own cosmetics company. But before she can do that, she’s applying for the job at Cole Cosmetics that will help her achieve her goal. She knows she’s perfect for the job, what could possible go wrong?

Maxwell Cole is seemingly perfect. He’s successful and intelligent, drop dead handsome with a personality to match because he claims to love women’s souls. But underneath that gorgeous façade and clever marketing ploy he’s hiding his own ugliness he’s been trying to fix for years. How can a woman with a face he can barely stand to see help him?

One of the many reasons I like Mimi’s books is because they all have some inspiring tidbit or some sort of lesson, but Fugly is in a league all its own. It hit my heart straight on. I think any woman that reads this story can connect with it because no one is perfect and sometimes we tend to let our own insecurities and negative thoughts lead us.

From the beginning, Fugly grabbed my attention and made me wonder what Lily meant about her ugliness. That first paragraph set a poignant tone and I couldn’t stop reading until the very end.

Lily is a wonderful heroine with her own awesome girl power. I wanted her to succeed, to accomplish her goals and to be happy. Max is a loveable alpha male jerk who despite his very serious issues could see Lily’s inner beauty.

I enjoyed their snarky, abrasive yet very enjoyable and addicting banter. Their unconventional relationship, their back and forth and unusual romance kept me very engaged. It was great how they were so candid and honest with each other. Of course with their openness also came intimacy which moved their relationship to cute, sweet, swoony and sexy. But the centre of it all is how Max was working on overcoming his issues and Lily realized she needed to work on hers.

“There was a huge difference between accepting and conquering. Accepting meant one tried to work around an issue, knowing it would never change. Conquering meant one pushed the obstacle out the way… He had his ugly. I had mine. He owned it. I didn’t.”

I also want to give a shout out to Lily’s parents, who were overprotectively awesome. I think I’m going to grow up to be like her mom. They didn’t just provide comic relief, they had a hand in Lily’s inner beauty. So that can’t go unmentioned.

I know I’m being a bit vague on the plot and I’m not doing it justice, but trust me when I say that this is a wonderful book that will captivate and inspire you and should be enjoyed without spoilers. It made me laugh, smile, cry and then smile all over again.

Fugly is a standalone, contemporary romance told from the heroine’s point of view with a happy ending and no cliff-hangers.

Fugly’s pinterest board -> https://www.pinterest.com/mimijeanrom…

Read first chapter -> http://www.mimijean.net/fugly.html

 

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway
//widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

 

About the Author

 

New York Times and USA Today bestselling Romance author, host of the radio talk show, Man Candy, on
Radioslot.com.

When San Francisco native Mimi Jean went on an adventure as an exchange student to Mexico City, she never imagined the journey would lead to writing Romance. But one MBA, one sexy husband, and two rowdy kids later, Mimi would trade in corporate life for vampires, deities, and snarky humor.

She continues to hope that her books will inspire a leather pants comeback (for men) and that she might make you laugh when you need it most.

She also enjoys interacting with her fans (especially if they’re batshit crazy). You can always find her chatting away on Facebook, Twitter, or saying many naughty words on her show MAN CANDY on Radioslot.com !

Find out more about Mimi and upcoming books at www.mimijean.net

 
 

Leave a Reply

