Review: Fugly

Posted on Updated on

Fugly
Fugly by Mimi Jean Pamfiloff
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


An emotional and thought provoking treasure. An incredibly moving read about facing our fuglies laced with Mimi Jean’s signature snarky fun.

“It takes the ugly truth of reality and makes it beautiful.” ~ Hannah R. on Fugly

Lily Snow has lived her entire life knowing she’s beautiful… on the inside. Even though she’s a very smart, driven career woman she’s also aware that her face is not on par with the rest of her. But it really doesn’t matter, no one has everything, and she does have everything she needs to get what she wants. Which is to own her own cosmetics company. But before she can do that, she’s applying for the job at Cole Cosmetics that will help her achieve her goal. She knows she’s perfect for the job, what could possible go wrong?

Maxwell Cole is seemingly perfect. He’s successful and intelligent, drop dead handsome with a personality to match because he claims to love women’s souls. But underneath that gorgeous façade and clever marketing ploy he’s hiding his own ugliness he’s been trying to fix for years. How can a woman with a face he can barely stand to see help him?

One of the many reasons I like Mimi’s books is because they all have some inspiring tidbit or some sort of lesson, but Fugly is in a league all its own. It hit my heart straight on. I think any woman that reads this story can connect with it because no one is perfect and sometimes we tend to let our own insecurities and negative thoughts lead us.

From the beginning, Fugly grabbed my attention and made me wonder what Lily meant about her ugliness. That first paragraph set a poignant tone and I couldn’t stop reading until the very end.

Lily is a wonderful heroine with her own awesome girl power. I wanted her to succeed, to accomplish her goals and to be happy. Max is a loveable alpha male jerk who despite his very serious issues could see Lily’s inner beauty.

I enjoyed their snarky, abrasive yet very enjoyable and addicting banter. Their unconventional relationship, their back and forth and unusual romance kept me very engaged. It was great how they were so candid and honest with each other. Of course with their openness also came intimacy which moved their relationship to cute, sweet, swoony and sexy. But the centre of it all is how Max was working on overcoming his issues and Lily realized she needed to work on hers.

“There was a huge difference between accepting and conquering. Accepting meant one tried to work around an issue, knowing it would never change. Conquering meant one pushed the obstacle out the way… He had his ugly. I had mine. He owned it. I didn’t.”

I also want to give a shout out to Lily’s parents, who were overprotectively awesome. I think I’m going to grow up to be like her mom. They didn’t just provide comic relief, they had a hand in Lily’s inner beauty. So that can’t go unmentioned.

I know I’m being a bit vague on the plot and I’m not doing it justice, but trust me when I say that this is a wonderful book that will captivate and inspire you and should be enjoyed without spoilers. It made me laugh, smile, cry and then smile all over again.

Fugly is a standalone, contemporary romance told from the heroine’s point of view with a happy ending and no cliff-hangers.

Fugly’s pinterest board -> https://www.pinterest.com/mimijeanrom…

Read first chapter -> http://www.mimijean.net/fugly.html

Amazon US -> http://amzn.to/1hNPKaU

* I was given an ARC of this book courtesy of the author. The excerpts are from that copy. *

More reviews * Stalk us on FaceBook * As well as Twitter * Pinterest Board for Book Teasers

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

