Review: Take the Fall

Posted on Updated on

Take the Fall Take the Fall by Marquita Valentine
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

What happens when’s loves compass breaks? This is a touching, angsty, sexy, sweet story about a forgiveness and second chances.

“You’re my compass and all directions lead me straight to where I’m supposed to be. With you. Love you forever.”

Seth O’Connor was seventeen when love, luck and circumstance derailed his plans and put him in jail and then sentenced him to serve in the marines for a crime he didn’t commit. Full of hatred and anger for his a and unfairly blaming Rowan, Seth turns his back and stayed away from the girl who’s owned his heart since he was five years old.

Seven years later, war and death have given him perspective. He’s realized that not everyone gets second chances. Determination to get his girl back sets in and going back to his home town to attend his grandmother’s funeral is the catalyst to set his plan in motion. Can he convince Rowan to forgive him for denying her and give them another chance?

At sixteen, Rowan Simmons thought she would love and be with Seth forever. Not even a jail sentence or serving as a marine could break them apart. The last thing she expected was for Seth to shatter her heart. But she’s not a girl anymore, she strong and independent and has built an impenetrable ice fortress around her heart. Not even the gorgeous man Seth has become could get through or can he?

From the very beginning, the prologue ensured I was fully invested in Seth and Rowan’s emotional story. It broke my heart how three young lives were forever unbearably altered. And from that moment on I anxiously flipped pages to know how two people that belonged together found their way back.

I really loved Seth’s persistence and that even though he lived through horrific times both in jail and while serving his country, he came back determined atone for lost time and his awful behavior towards Rowan. Failure is not an option and he’s resolved to live life at its fullest with the only person who meant for him. Even if his plan involved lots of sexy times and not a lot of laying it all out. I admired Rowan for picking up the pieces of her heart and life after both her brother and Seth got sent to jail. I liked that she wasn’t just independent, but also tough and smart. But that strong will sometimes crossed over to extreme stubbornness with a touch of lack of communication.

“I don’t know what you want from me.” “Baby, I want what you can give me.” “What if I can’t give you anything?” “You’ll give me everything… Because you know I’m what you need.”

Seth and Rowan’s road to their happy ever after was long with a lot of bumps and bruises and sometimes felt like an endless maze of back and forth between the two. But there were also a lot of deliciously sexy times, interweaved with sweet tender moments, and some flat out swoon worthy ones. This is my first Marquita book. I enjoyed her writing style and loved that it has a fast pace which was easy to read.

Take the Fall is the first book in the Take the Fall series by Marquita Valentine. It is a standalone, full-length, contemporary romance filled with angsty, sexy times and swoon worthy moments. Told from both points of view, with a happy ending. * I was given an ARC of this book courtesy of the author via NetGalley. The excerpts are from that copy. * More reviews * Stalk us on FaceBook * As well as Twitter * Pinterest Board for Book Teasers

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

