Review: Unforgiven: A Soulkeepers Novel

Posted on Updated on

Unforgiven: A Soulkeepers Novel
Unforgiven: A Soulkeepers Novel by Lori Adams
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A forbidden love, a race against time on a path that in which a wrong turn may lead one heart where the other can’t follow. The sweet, exciting conclusion of a wonderful angels vs. demons trilogy.

Michael has fought against his vows and fought against Sophia’s training only to come out a Halo Warrior that knows he can’t go on without the girl that makes his heart beat double time at his side.

With some help, she’s finished her Awakening and is now a full-fledged spirit walker. Armed with her Chelsea light she’s ready to help lost souls cross over to heaven.

“Euphoria best describes my feelings… They settle on the mist, only to swirl back up with movement. My first saved soul leaves a permanent imprint on me. I have been touched by the purity of all emotions: love.”

Feeling a strong second heartbeat within her own, she’s also eager to be with her love, Michael. But before she can completely devote herself to these two things, she needs to be complete herself. That is, she needs to reunite with her soul.

“Michael is what follows every thought, every breath. My soul’s mate.”

Sophia has broken a lot of rules and made some questionable decisions. Making a doppelganger of herself to lighten the load between her learning to destroy evil demons and schoolwork she left her other half defenseless against her most dangerous threat, Dante. The demon of persuasion who loves one of her previous incarnations and has now taken her twin to hell thinking it’s her. Can Sophia keep her secret long enough to get her double back? Can she do it before she fades away and it’s too late?

This book, the final in the trilogy, starts right where Awaken left off. And as is with Lori Adam’s writing, we don’t just get an exciting plot, we also get rich and vibrant descriptions made more so with accompanying music and appealing characters.

It’s thrilling and delightful to see how Sophia grows into herself, not just accepting her destiny but fighting for it and embracing her future. ►♫

I was besotted with Michael in this book. I loved how he realized his connection with Sophia went beyond his fear for her safety and the urge to protect her even from her calling.

“I was an idiot to think I could live without you. And I was a fool to think I could tame you.”

He realizes that their love was more important to him than the established rules. And at the same time acknowledging and respecting her decisions. I loved all the sweet, tender, sexy moments they had together. Their romance was simply gorgeous. ►♫

“My hands love your hands.” He leans down, brushing his lips across mine. “My lips love your lips.” Softly, he kisses me. “My heart loves your heart.”

Which only made my sadness for Dante more pronounced. I’ve always had a soft spot for this demon, getting to know his deep love for a woman who he couldn’t have in life and has been searching for in the afterlife for centuries. As the plot unfolds we learn more about his human life and what led him to his current state. But if you want know what his future holds now that he thinks he has his beloved back, you’ll have to dive in.

Questions are answered and destinies are fulfilled as secrets I really wanted to know about are clarified and shocking betrayals and events I never saw coming unfold throughout this incredibly sweet and sultry story of “A halo warrior and a spirit walker breaking forbidden rules.”

I love Lori Adams’ writing, enjoyed how she tied most loose ends and teased us with a not so definite “end before the beginning.”

Unforgiven is book 3 in the Soulkeepers series that cannot be read as a standalone. It’s strongly advised to read these books in order. It’s written from various points of view, and does not have a cliffhanger.

4.5 soul keeping stars

Amazon US -> http://amzn.to/1O9hvpH

* I was given an ARC of this book courtesy of the author via NetGalley. The excerpts are from that copy. *

More reviews * Stalk us on FaceBook * As well as Twitter * Pinterest Board for Book Teasers

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

